Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I tried this thinking 10 000 people can't be wrong but it does not work. It is super greasy. Cook the meatballs separately and add them at the end and cut the pasta to half. If you don't you will regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My family loved it. I cooked the pasta seperately and added to bowls just prior to serving as to not starch up the soup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a787

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good! I used 6 c. chicken broth and 1 beef as other suggested. I shredded the carrots (to avoid detection by my kids) and sauteed the onion in a little oil to soften before adding. Also added a little garlic (hey, Italians put garlic in everything, I think). Also used spinach in place of the escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious! I did use 6 cups chicken broth, 1 cup beef broth and cooked the pasta separately. Next time I wouldn't use quite as much pasta, but that's my only (tiny) complaint. The meatballs had great flavor and texture. YUM! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this last night using a 1lb of ground turkey for the meatballs. The other minor changes were to saute the 1 cup carrots, 1/2 cup onions and celery with a little olive oil first for about 6 minutes adding some white wine before adding 8 cups of chicken broth. I didn't have escarole but needed to use up some fresh spinach. Before serving I whisked 2 eggs with 2 Tbs of parmesan cheese stirred the soup in a circular motion and streamed the egg mixture into the soup. Seasoned with a little sea salt and freshly ground pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Huge hit with the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I read the reviews first and made with the following changes. Doubled the carrot, halved the pasta (cooked it first), and used half beef and half chicken broth. I also browned the meatballs in a pan first. It was quite good, needed a bit of salt and could use more broth. However I used penne pasta, couldn't find orzo, and I used 1.5 cups (recipe would have been 3 cups) and this was quite a bit of pasta, I could have used less but the shape of penne takes a lot of room. I also used a third of a pack of frozen spinach, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good base recipe. Being a dietitian, I like more vegetables so I added more carrots, celery, subbed bok choy instead and used others advice to only add 1/2 cup cooked orzo. Do cook orzo seperately. Also added a bay leaf in for another dimension of flavor. Soup was better the 2nd and 3rd time so definately make extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Nice, Very nice! Made this as directed with no modifications & it was excellent as is. This meal is very easy & quick to make. Everyone loved this soup & my oldest had 3 bowls! There was just enough for lunch tomorrow which my wife has already claimed. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe & it has already been requested again. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phi delta Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Im not a big one for soup but this was execent. I used two large contianers of chicken broth other iwse it wasnt enough broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States