Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy in my Tummy! I made this in a crock pot for a soup themed pot luck. My friend's 5yr old girl had 2 bowls. I was amazed! I make the meatballs with ground turkey sausage, because it gives the meatballs a different flavor & texture. Like other reviews I boiled the orzo seperately, and added a can of beef broth for a hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Rhythm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this for dinner, and it's a keeper for us! Some changes I made by reading the reviews were to add some chopped celery, brown the meatballs and cook the orzo separately. I used one carton and one can of chicken broth, and my personal taste was to keep the orzo at one cup, since we love pasta. Next time I will add some garlic powder and pepper to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Made this for a soup supper at work. I had high hopes, so I tripled the recipe. Out of four soups presented, this is the only one that emptied the crock TWICE. It was also the only one my coworkers fought over in taking the leftovers (I tripled it, remember?) home. Good stuff! What I did differently because of what I had on hand: 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 beef, and fresh spinach instead of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Thanks to all the helpful reviews, we loved this soup! I took the advice of others to use 6 cups chicken broth & 1 cup beef broth. I also added 1 clove minced garlic to the meatballs & used dried minced onion instead of onion powder. The meatballs are delicious! I baked them (on parchment paper) at 350 for 20 minutes to get that nice color & get rid of some grease. Definitely good advice to go 1/2 cup on the orzo (even this ended up soaking up most of the liquid, but it was still pretty good!) & cook it separately. I used 1 cup carrots & liked that amount. I also added 1/2 of an onion (chopped) & 1 clove minced garlic sauteed with the carrots before adding broth & meatballs to simmer. I only had a 10 oz box of frozen spinach so I used that (added near the end of cooking) and it was good to go! The Hubster just loved this soup and he's a big fan of italian wedding soup, so that says a lot. Thanks for the recipe and all the great advice! Makes this a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent, family said it was the best soup they have ever had. Few changes, used 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth and 1 cup beef broth. Also browned meatballs first and added garlic. Great flavor, will add to rotation - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is not what I was hoping for. Very bland, and if you cook according to directions, the escarole becomes slimy mush. I don't even want to try to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Soooo tasty! I used thyme instead of basil and it tastes great. Also lightly sauteed some garlic in the pot before adding the liquid. Will definitely make this delicious healthy meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good base, but this is a little bland. I added 1/2 tsp salt to meatballs. + onion, celery and black pepper to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This soup was great. I had to use spinach and I also added onion and celery. I also use ground pork because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe after reading other peoples comments. I upped the amount of carrots to 1/2 a cup (which I still think wasn't enough) and added celery and onions. I also sauteed the veggies in a bit of olive oil before I added the broth to the pot. I browned the meat balls in a separate pan before cooking in the broth and added garlic to the mixture instead of onion powder. Finally, I cooked the pasta before adding it to the soup, and I cut the orzo pasta down to 1/2 a cup since so many reviews said there was too much pasta with following the recipe at a full cup. I wish I hadn't since I felt it needed more pasta. Overall a very quick and simple soup that is quite hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States