Italian Wedding Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend, and he loves it. The day before I made this recipe, I made my own stock, and I used 4 cups of that stock with one cup of beef bouillon - I thought I grabbed a can of beef broth, but when I got it home it was chicken. The flavor made by combining the broths is perfect! I used shredded carrots (so he'd eat them) and diced an onion for the soup. I did brown my meatballs slightly before adding them to the broth, and cooked the orzo separately. So I used a few dishes to make it, but it is worth the extra clean up! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't have onion powder so I substituted some garlic powder instead. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Tasty but needed some additions. For the meatballs I did not add basil or onion powder, I chopped a small clove of garlic and 1 TBS chopped fresh parsley and added it to the meat I also added 3TBS bread crumbs and 2 TBS grated parm along with the egg instead of what the recipe called for. In the pot for the broth I sauteed in olive oil 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 medium onion, and 2 medium carrots all chopped fine. I also added some chopped anise because I didn't have celery on hand. then I added a box of Trader Joe Chicken Broth and about a cup of water, let it come to a boil and then added the meat balls. and let it cook for about 15 minutes. I added 1/2 cup orzo and let it simmer until the orzo was cooked, and finally a bag if fresh spinach. I knew there would be no left overs which is why I cooked the pasta in the soup. I used lean chop meat and had no problem with the soup benig greasy at all. Good base recipe, thanks for adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Definitely cut down on the amount of Orzo pasta called for.....and DO cook the pasta separately....otherwise it easily overcooks and soaks up a lot of the liquid in the soup pot. Otherwise a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
use only 1/2 cup if using acini de pep instead of orzo and 1 lb ground beef was too much. Use only 1/2 lb and make very tiny meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Easy & Delicious! I made a lot of alterations, but I think the base recipe would be fantastic as-is. Thanks Star! (1) Used ground pork. (2) Baked the meatballs at 350 for 20 minutes. (3) Increased the carrots. (4) Used spinach rather than escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was great! As suggested by other users I used 7 cups of broth (6 chicken and 1 beef) and I browned my meatballs in olive oil before adding them to the soup. The soup was not greasy at all and the flavor was amazing. I also used spinach as my green! Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
So good! I used 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 turkey sausage for the meatballs (doubled batch and froze half for later), baked at 350 for 20-30 mins; and pre-cooked the 1/2 cup orzo before adding at the end. Also added 1 c. beef broth and some thinly sliced celery. (Thanks, other reviewers!). Everyone loved it and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It was good soup, but after all the work of making meatballs and pasta, what I really wanted was spaghetti and meatballs, not soup. Too much labor when other soups are just as good but less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States