Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
These tasted way too salty! I would reduce the salt to a dash or 1/4t rather than 3/4t. I will try them again using much less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe produces an excellent version of this type of cookie. I reduced the salt to about 1/4 tsp and rolled them in 10X sugar three times each. I found that about 12 minutes produced the right amount of doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is the secound year that I have used this recipe. I love them. I cut the salt a little this year, I didn't notice too much salt but my husband said something last year. I think I ate these the most out of all the cookies I make. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
These cookies were very fry and crumbly and didn't stay together when rolled into a ball. The flavor was OK, but I like them better with pecans as opposed to almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Easier to make than I thought. Used parchment paper to bake the dough on, and a pastry brush to brush chocolate on the top layer. If chocolate cracks when cutting, just fill it in with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These went over like gang busters! They are very delicate and are awesome in tea. They melt in your mouth!! I used walnuts instead of almonds or pecans, as those are the favorite in my house. Worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
These are really lovely cookies. Very soft and melt-in-your-mouth, with a heavenly almond flavor. I used 1 teaspoon almond extract and reduced the vanilla extract by the same amount - it really gave them a flavorful, delicious kick. And I listened to other reviewers and reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon - perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I love this recipe, however, I added more vanilla than what was called for because vanilla gives it such a good flavor. I also used pecans instead of almonds. I've made other versions of this particular cookie but I like this recipe the best and will make it every year at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Growing up we called these 'snowball' cookies, and this is a very good recipe. I like crushed pecans, instead of almonds - but any nut would do. The salt is excessive, unless you're using unsalted butter. I cut it for my second batch to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
these cookies were delicious! the best recipe i've found for this type so far... if you make a small change.. i agree with the other reviewers about the salt. i added only 1/4tsp to the dough and they were perfect. i especially like that this recipe calls for pwd sugar instead of white sugar in the dough. i think that it made the cookie extra melt-in-your-mouth. i also used ground pecans instead of almonds, that's the way i like best. a hint for rolling them in the sugar after they bake... roll once when the cookie is still hot and again when it is completely cool. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States