Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed this recipe in everything except I didn't have unsalted butter. So, I used regular, and cut the extra salt. They were so rich, and not too crumbly. I kept them in the fridge till the next day and they still held together and disappeared very quickly at the party! This is a repeat for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
They melt in your mouth, but I'm looking for more flavor...good taste but could use something...more vanilla?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have been making a similar version of this cookie with walnuts. I prefer this recipe with almonds for three reasons: almonds are cheaper, they crush more easily than walnuts and they give a nicer flavor than walnuts. Forget the ungreased cookie sheet: line the cookie sheet with parchment paper and these cookies will turn out perfectly with no burning and very little browning on the bottom. One of the nice things about the parchment paper trick is it allows you to make large cookies: the center has time to cook, and since the bottoms don't burn, they turn out great. Cookies like these pair well with a cuppa tea! (translation: cup of tea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
AWESOME! ! Yes I only added 1/4 tsp salt because I used salted butter and if was plenty & just right! I LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My fave from when I was little. I added a bit more sugar to the mixture and a third less salt. I use walnuts instead of almonds bc I like them better. Only vanilla extract. Baking them 7 mins and then flipping pan for another 7 was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizlisa19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I toasted some whole pecans, then processed in the food processor until they were quite fine. I used 2-1/2 tsp. vanilla plus 1 tsp. almond extract to add some sweetness. I refrigerated the dough before rolling which worked fine. My 1" balls took 22 minutes at 325 degrees in my oven to be fully set inside and not raw in the center. (I cut into a few test cookies at different time intervals to check.) Be sure to use a stand or hand mixer to mix the butter/sugar to make it light and fluffy and then fold in the flour gently so it does not get 'tough'. The results were good, although they are not very sweet and you could really taste the flour as other reviewers have mentioned. Next time and I might add more powdered sugar to the mix and may try the other reviewers suggestion to substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/2 cup of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you for this great recipe. Followed exactly, except reduced salt by half, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
You know, to be fair, I have to rate this based on the way it's written and that brings it to four stars because the salt called for is way too high (I eliminated it all together because I use salted butter, but if I used unsalted butter, I would reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon) and also the vanilla is a bit on the high side (and I love vanilla!!). But I reduced it to two teaspoons and it was perfect!! With these two changes it easily goes to a five star, delicious cookie recipe! And for ease of rolling into balls, grind the nuts as finely as possible and you can even add up to 1 tablespoon of milk if you find the dough too crumbly. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Just made these to pack for Christmas presents. Followed others recommendation: unsalted butter, 1/4 tsp salt, used the ice cream scooper method then rounded them with my hands, then squeezed the balls so that they are slightly taller because they flatten out a little after baking. I was able to get total 60 cooikes with this recipe. Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States