Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I had problems with this recipe. My cookie dough was way too soft & sticky to form balls. I added some more flour to the consistency I could work with. The cookies came out way too tender and just trying to pick them up caused them to crumble. I followed the recipe exactly, other than having to add more flour, so no idea what went wrong. The entire batch was just way too delicate to even roll in the powdered sugar without crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious! First time I have ever made these cookies and they are a hit. Must make with almonds, I think it gives a lighter texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Try putting a tablespoon of flour in with the almonds when you grind them. This should help you get a finer grind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Just made these for a Christmas Cookie exchange. They are AWESOME! Very easy to make and are so yummy. My kids even love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I literally just took my first tray out of the oven, I ate one warm and it was so delicious. I only made half the recipe to make sure it was the cookie I was looking for, and now I am wishing I made the whole batch. I used salted butter because that is all I had on hand,so I didn't add the salt called for in the recipe, and I used walnuts instead of almonds..... These are AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Photo by Shannon O'K
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great Christmas Cookie. A nice change from the very rich and heavy treats. Nice to have with tea or coffee. I halved the recipe and still got 25 nice sized crescents. I used ground blanched almonds I purchased from the bulk food store. I used some almond extract as well. I found that by making crescents I didn't have to roll in sugar and worry about all that . I just let them cool on wire rack a bit. Then I used a makeshift seive (my tea strainer) filled with icing sugar and tapped it gently while lightly powedering all the cookies:) Worked great! I took an extra step to temper some semi sweet chocolate and then put it into a ziploc baggie with the tip cut off. I then put a swirl of chocolate on the top! Even with the extra step it didn't take long and it was well worth it. Plus it added something special for Christmas. Great recipe. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I have always loved these cookies, and I really never eat sweets, but when these are around I do. I used my bullet to ground the pecans fine. Thanks, Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
At first I hated this cookie because it was so crumbly. It disintegrated when my teenager went to grab one and I gave it two stars. I thought it was pretty bland but you really have to give it time to cool completely before tasting. This cookie is better on day 3 so make it days in advance of your event. It's less crumbly on the 2nd and 3rd day probably because the butter solidifies a little bit. This cookie grew on me and so I'm going to try bringing it to our Thanksgiving cookie contest and see how people like it. I'll edit this afterwards to let you know. co-workers liked it. I did follow others suggestions regarding salt and making it 1/3 vanilla and 2/3 almond extract. I think I'll try just using all extract next time. I also tried dipping the tops in chocolate and my teen loved it that way better. I will also try putting a chocolate kiss in the center and see how that does in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I have had a few different people's recipes for these in my life, but these were the best I've ever had! Very nice and buttery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolelynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States