Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I would have left 5 starts had it not been for the salt. With 1/4 tsp they're great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Cookies are wonderful but I gave it 4 stars because it was so messy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Glasgow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good recipe! I experimented with it a little by leaving out the almonds and mixing in Nutella to replace the nut flavor. I also only used a cup of flour and then put in 1/2 cup of cornstarch which I think made the cookies a little softer. They came out nicely brown and flavorful, and taste great with raspberries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Very good recipe and this is an excellent "make it your own" type recipe. Use any nut you like just make sure it is very fine. I used almond meal the first time, and I thought they came out great. Substitute almond extract if you like, however I like it with just a hint of almond, so that people are asking, "what is that flavor?" So, I replaced 1 1/2 teaspoons of the vanilla with almond extract and that's one of my fav's now. You can make these into orange or lemon by using those extracts however don't use as much because I think they are too strong; use maybe 1/2 the amount and then throw in some zest to give that extra zing. Here's my favorite trick though, when I make the nut based cookie, I roll them in powdered sugar mixed with 1 teaspoon of powdered vanilla. AMAZING! I like the Nielsen-Massey brand which you can get on Amazon or at Williams Sonoma. For the lemon and orange, mix in some finely grated zest with the powdered sugar. The possibilities are endless. One more thing, since we all like to tweak things and make them our own, I tried substituting some of the flour for cornstarch to see if it produced a more tender cookie and I think it did. Replace 1/2 cup of the flour with the cornstarch and see for yourself. I also save my powdered sugar in between batches and either use it in the next recipe or use it again for tossing the cookies in. These are so darn addictive, baker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Extremely easy to make and delicious. My daughter and I whipped out a batch which produced 3 dozen cookies in well under the 45 minute prep time. Perhaps the Kitchen Aid mixer helped. The only tweak we made was to use almond extract instead of vanilla as this is how I've had these cookies in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I LOVED THE RECIPE. SO DO MY CLIENTS. I MADE A CHANGE INSTEAD ALMONDS I USED 1 CUP OF FINELY GROUND PECAN (USE YOUR FOOD PROCESSOR) THEN I USED A CANTALOPE SCOOP TO MAKE 1/2 BALLS/BITES............... MY RECIPE YIELD 2 LB. 8 0Z. OR 185 HALF BALL BITES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
They needed to be baked slightly longer. Mine crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Family favorite. Perfect for Christmas. Recipe was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I just made these cookies for an Macaroni Western night and they were a BIG hit. They're great for dipping with tea or coffee. Instead of rolling them in powdered sugar again after taking them out of the oven, I just made a simple frosting out of confectioners sugar, water, and almond extract, and then decorated them with a few gold cupcake sprinkles to make 'em fancy. I'll for sure make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My family loved them. I did different shape (croissant shape)and dipped one half in dark chocolate then sprinkle some of the silver baking dust on the top of the part with chocolate...Also, I used pecan nuts instead of almonds and less salt. It was a big hit for Christmas. I'll make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieszka Szkubel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States