Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I toasted some whole pecans, then processed in the food processor until they were quite fine. I used 2-1/2 tsp. vanilla plus 1 tsp. almond extract to add some sweetness. I refrigerated the dough before rolling which worked fine. My 1" balls took 22 minutes at 325 degrees in my oven to be fully set inside and not raw in the center. (I cut into a few test cookies at different time intervals to check.) Be sure to use a stand or hand mixer to mix the butter/sugar to make it light and fluffy and then fold in the flour gently so it does not get 'tough'. The results were good, although they are not very sweet and you could really taste the flour as other reviewers have mentioned. Next time and I might add more powdered sugar to the mix and may try the other reviewers suggestion to substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/2 cup of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you for this great recipe. Followed exactly, except reduced salt by half, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
You know, to be fair, I have to rate this based on the way it's written and that brings it to four stars because the salt called for is way too high (I eliminated it all together because I use salted butter, but if I used unsalted butter, I would reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon) and also the vanilla is a bit on the high side (and I love vanilla!!). But I reduced it to two teaspoons and it was perfect!! With these two changes it easily goes to a five star, delicious cookie recipe! And for ease of rolling into balls, grind the nuts as finely as possible and you can even add up to 1 tablespoon of milk if you find the dough too crumbly. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Just made these to pack for Christmas presents. Followed others recommendation: unsalted butter, 1/4 tsp salt, used the ice cream scooper method then rounded them with my hands, then squeezed the balls so that they are slightly taller because they flatten out a little after baking. I was able to get total 60 cooikes with this recipe. Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Italian Wedding cookies, Mexican Wedding cookies, I had no idea they were also called that! I know them as Kourambie, a very popular Christmas Bisquit from Greece. Only one more week till Christmas and then the house will be filled with the aroma of these and other sweet delights, cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My grandmother made wedding cookies for years and I learned from her. They are fantastic. But what she taught me is to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening for the fat. It makes such a delicate flavored cookie. The all butter ones to me are too dense, I like mine to just melt in my mouth. Also, always pecans finely chopped. I have never tried this recipe, just giving cookie hints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I added 1 tsp of almond extract and used pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I substituted 1/2 cup of corn starch for 1/2 cup of the flour as another reviewer had said to do. It made the cookies so soft they fell apart whenever I touched them. So except for cutting the salt down the recipe is best as it is written. I've made this recipe many times as written and everyone has loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I substituted pecans and used my small scoop which expedited the process. I dumped the hot cookies into a pie plateful of confectioners sugar and tossed them with a fork. The texture was a little too dry but that could be pecans v. almonds. I think I'll go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love these cookies! This recipe called for too much flour and salt so I used another recipe from this site. Thank you for sharing such an easy recipe to modify. Happy Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria Beltran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States