Italian Vegetarian Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I love, love, love these patties! The only changes I made were, 1) adding about 1/2 cup of chopped onions to the hot oil and rice, and 2) to use a light-flavored olive oil rather than vegetable oil, in keeping with my efforts to make healthier food choices. I didn't have to alter the amount of water, or change the recipe in any other way. Not sure why onions would not be included in the recipe, though. To me, onions are the backbone of flavorful, savory cooking. I love how these patties were not dry or cardboard-like, as so many vegetarian "meat" recipes can be. Thank you for this recipe, SHECOOKS2. It is a keeper! Even my meat-and-potatoes husband liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I cooked this as written minus the cheese. After 40 minutes the rice/lentils still had a lot of water so I just took the lid off and let it simmer until it thickened up. My food processor was too small to fit it all in so I just did the lentils and rice in there and then threw it all in my stand mixer. That worked fine. I don't love that they are fried but they are soooo tasty. What a treat! I can't wait to try them as "meatballs" or as a lettuce wrap. I have one in the oven to see how they bake up and it looks good so far. Update....I have made this several times now...all very tasty. My favorite way is to freeze them uncooked, individually packaged, and I just thaw them as needed. I cook them in an iron skillet with a little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Excellent. I'm not a vegetarian, just a lady lookin' for a recipe to use up some lentils. I made this as written, with the exception of throwing in about a 1/4 finely diced onion. I made small patties, like sliders. I served them on little buns with mustard & ketchup. I never said a word to my husband about what they "really" were. He loved them. Still thinks he was eatin' a burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I have made these three times now, and this time I did not put the grains in the food processor as I found the consistency is too much like mashed potatoes. Tonight, they were great! When I browned the uncooked rice, I added a medium chopped onion and two chopped stalks of celery along with three cloves of garlic. I used Lundberg's rice blend of red, brown and wild rice. When the grains were cooked, I simply stirred them into the bread crumb & egg mixture, added 1/2 tsp pepper and 1 TBSP Italian seasoning, and fried the patties in olive oil. The texture is way better when you don't use a food processor. Don't mash the grains at all, as they are mushy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and I liked what I got, but it wasn't what I thought I was going to get! the 6 cups of water was way too much for me, I don't think I ever got it quite thick enough. so when I went to make the patties, I couldn't for the life of me get them to keep their shape, even after cooling completely. so instead I used my cookie scoop to make about 80 meatless balls... I baked them for 30 minutes at 400 and they were delicious! the other thing I must have gotten wrong was the processing because these had no semblance of meat texture, and of course they didn't taste like meat, so I don't think I will be able to pass them off as meatballs. they taste like mashed potato actually. but they are really tasty, and my 2 little kids gobbled them up so I can't complain! I will start with less water next time, and try processing them less to get a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
One of my favorite veggie burger recipes. I froze some and took it with me on my vacation. They might take a while to make but are well worth the effort, thanks for the recipe. Edit: I tried making them into "meatballs" today and they were excellent. This is definitely a staple for me now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I added some fresh thyme and Tabasco sauce for extra flavour. I didn't have any Parmesan cheese but added 1 1/2 cups grated tofu for extra protein. I also chilled the mixture in the fridge for 1/2 hour to make it easier to form the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are very good! I didn't have any rice on hand, so I used quinoa. It worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excellent! The best Vegie Patties EVER!! Bake 350F 20 minutes, then flip and bake 20 minutes more. I make bean patties all the time. They are good fast food. I slip 2 of 'em in a baggie and pop 'em in my purse. They are great right after the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My family loves these patties. They are addictive! We make the recipe as listed except we use regular lentils (we can't find red lentils). This recipe makes a lot, and we heat the leftovers up for snacks and for lunches. Great texture and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States