Italian Vegetarian Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are wonderful! They didn't take too long to make and were filling. I love the fact that they are made with lentils, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
These are some of the best vegetarian 'meat' patties I have tried to date (well, patties that don't include gluten anyway). My husband did the skillet-heat-'em-up part of the cooking, and he did not have the patience to cook them through as one reviewer suggested *sigh*. I enjoyed these fine alongside a pasta and tomato dish, and enjoy them quite a bit in wraps (and that's a good thing, cuz these made a bunch!). Depending on how the rest of these freeze, and how much they change on the inside when left on a slower griddle for a longer time when I get around to cooking the rest of the batch, I might make some of these up again, keeping some in the freezer for myself. However, these are a bit of work, and I'm fine with plain beans. Plus, my family is still not sold on "meat substitutes." They can deal with meatless meals, and that's saying something, since my husband used to require gobs of ham in his own bowl of pinto beans. Now, as long as there are some nice sides the the beans, he thinks of brown bean supper as a very nice meal, guest-friendly even (think fried potatoes, cornbread, salsa verde, and something akin to fried okra, oh, slaw as well). Missing one or two of those sides, and brown beans, even without meat, are still a VERY user friendly meal to him today. However, 'meat substitute' is what he thinks when he hears 'bean cake', and maybe that's why the bean cakes never translate over for him. BUT THESE ARE GOOD ALL THE SAME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious! A little difficult to handle before frying but worth the effort. I separate the patties with waxed paper then freeze. I like to reheat and cover with salsa to eat for lunch or eat in a bun like a hamburger for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I was really surprised how good these tasted, given the ingredients. I used a 17 bean and lentil mix, simply because it's what I had on hand. I also used Italian Seasoning instead of the basil (personal preference). Worked great. They are very flavorful and firm. They taste great alone, or on a sandwich. They also taste good hot or cold. I did read one review where she said the texture was like mashed potatoes. I did notice that the ones that were more well done on the outside had a firmer, meatier texture on the inside. So I think you have to make sure they're fully cooked through to get the firmer texture. It is a little labor intensive, but I think most veggie burger recipes are. Hubby and kids came back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These are great! Cheap too! This recipe made dinner for my family of 4 for 3 nights. I didn't cook the recipe as stated since I had lentils and brown rice in the freezer. Getting the right texture was not hard. I also added cooked onion, 1 extra egg, and real garlic. I fried them and put avocado on top. They were really moist inside. My 6 & 9 year olds ATE THESE UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The water ratio on this recipe is way off thus the reduced stars. These remind me more of falafel or a moo shu pancake than an Italian patty. I cooked 1/2 an onion with the rice as some others did. I reduced the water to 5 cups and still needed to finish cooking with the lid off to get a drier consistency. No need to use a food processor as the red lentils and brown rice cooked to a mush. In addition to the seasonings called for I used seasoned bread crumbs and red pepper flakes. Using a #30 scoop I made 58 patties. These will go nicely with an Asian sauce. I will make these again with my changes. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! I made them double size for larger buns. My only problem was that I had too much water, but draining off the excess worked well. Since the lentils and rice were so wet, I didn't add the eggs. I reduced the cheese and eliminated the salt to make this low sodium. Everyone loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I'm rating this dish compared to all foods not just veggie patties. I'm not a connoisseur of veggie patties, but I would guess as far as those go it is probably pretty darn good. I would recommend these to vegetarians; however, I'd be hesitant to recommend them to others - it didn't wow me. I followed the recipe as is. In order to get a really thick consistency as required, it took me significantly longer to cook than directed. I ended up cooking them on low without the cover at the end. This recipe makes a lot! It wouldn't all fit in my food processor. Some of it I just stirred by hand and the consistency was fine. The patties cooked up nicely (give them some time to cool so they aren't too sticky) by just using cooking spray. I cooked them on medium-high heat until browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Excellent! I have been looking for a good meatless burger and THIS IS IT! Thank you for the recipe! I did add a little onion, but that is the only change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States