Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is really flavorful. The first time I made it the directions were followed exactly...minus the cabbage. Can not stand cook cabbage. Second time was experiment time. I did add two more cups of water as well as a generous splash of Côtes-du-Rhône, a nice little red wine I like to use in cooking. Turned out fantastic! Once again, I took some over to my 95 year old Swiss neighbor. Having learned from the chicken noodle soup, this time I took over enough for her to have a couple of meals from it. She comes from Italian Canton Ticino here. She said it reminded her of the soup her mother use to make. I think that is a pretty good endorsement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTCOOKINSWITZERLAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
this was delicious. modified slightly to our taste. no cabbage or corn and used homemade pasta sauce in place of the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Kudos every time! Great make-ahead soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Good and hearty soup! I had to add another can of tomato sauce and about 2-3 cups more water than called for. With the additional liquids I added more seasoning to make sure it wasn't bland. This makes a lot of soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Love it every time. I use ground turkey instead of beef and add about a tablespoon of chili powder to give it more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef and it was spectacular. Served with a grilled cheese sandwich . . . heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Love this soup! I make the macaroni on the side so it doesn't soak up all the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've been making this soup for years and it is my favorite. Today I took a double recipe to a church luncheon. When I went to get some, it was GONE!!! I had several people ask for the recipe. Yes, it is that good. I do not add salt since the beef bouillon adds plenty of salt. I also use 2 -3 heaping cups of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very Good. Switched some of the veggies around and used a can of enchilada sauce in place of tomato and of course upped the garlic quite a bit. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious! I'm not much of a soup person but I loved this one (4 times now). Simple to make and a real crowd pleaser! I used hot Italian sausage instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States