Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is really flavorful. The first time I made it the directions were followed exactly...minus the cabbage. Can not stand cook cabbage. Second time was experiment time. I did add two more cups of water as well as a generous splash of Côtes-du-Rhône, a nice little red wine I like to use in cooking. Turned out fantastic! Once again, I took some over to my 95 year old Swiss neighbor. Having learned from the chicken noodle soup, this time I took over enough for her to have a couple of meals from it. She comes from Italian Canton Ticino here. She said it reminded her of the soup her mother use to make. I think that is a pretty good endorsement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTCOOKINSWITZERLAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
this was delicious. modified slightly to our taste. no cabbage or corn and used homemade pasta sauce in place of the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Kudos every time! Great make-ahead soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Good and hearty soup! I had to add another can of tomato sauce and about 2-3 cups more water than called for. With the additional liquids I added more seasoning to make sure it wasn't bland. This makes a lot of soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Love it every time. I use ground turkey instead of beef and add about a tablespoon of chili powder to give it more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef and it was spectacular. Served with a grilled cheese sandwich . . . heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Love this soup! I make the macaroni on the side so it doesn't soak up all the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've been making this soup for years and it is my favorite. Today I took a double recipe to a church luncheon. When I went to get some, it was GONE!!! I had several people ask for the recipe. Yes, it is that good. I do not add salt since the beef bouillon adds plenty of salt. I also use 2 -3 heaping cups of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very Good. Switched some of the veggies around and used a can of enchilada sauce in place of tomato and of course upped the garlic quite a bit. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious! I'm not much of a soup person but I loved this one (4 times now). Simple to make and a real crowd pleaser! I used hot Italian sausage instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States