Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Tried this a couple of weeks ago does make a lot - so good, if you want to share. I also used a can of beef broth and undercooked the macaroni some so would not be so mushy upon re-heating. Used 1 can of black beans & 1 kidney. Was much better the 2nd day as flavors had a chance to meld. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe several years ago at my mom's house one cold winter afternoon. It's the best soup she ever made, but I thought she had cleaned out the fridge and just thrown everything in the pot. I was so happy to find there was actually a recipe and I could make it just like that again! My family loves it, I always share with neighbors because I double the recipe. I make it for big groups and I get raves everytime I make it. We sprinkle fresh shredded Parmesan on top when serving. This is our all-time favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is very close to my family recipe for minestrone! Being pure italian, I'd avoid putting in corn and garlic. Instead of kidney beans, I'd use borlotti, which are proper italian and give it all a full taste. To avoid small kids or fussy eaters complaining, I'd blend the soup and put rice or pastina. And buon appetito! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe!!! I tried it a few weeks ago without any doctoring(without the cabbage, I really don't like cabbage!)and it turned out fantastically well!! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent!!! However it does need more liquid so I added four cups of beef broth. It does make a LOT of soup... in fact, it fills a five and half quart dutch oven. I've made this three times already this winter. It's a healthy, delicious soup and I think everyone would enjoy on a cold winter day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was a delicious soup. I had to add about 4 cups of water as it was so thick. I added other pasta as I was out of macaroni. This worked fine, but turned to mush when I reheated leftovers. Best to cook pasta separately and add fresh to each cup of soup. This freezes well. I was happy to find it on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this almost exactly as written and it was fantastic. We truly enjoyed this soup- for several days as a matter of fact. The only difference I made was that I boiled the pasta separately and added to the individual bowls to keep it from absorbing all of the wonderful broth. This is definitely on the rotation!!!! Thanks you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Oh my goodness, SO GOOD! This is definitely going in my family recipe box! I cooked the soup according to instructions, but with these variations: I added 32 oz. of beef stock in addition to the water, used 5 garlic cloves instead of 2, seasoned with fresh ground salt and pepper and 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (could use more) with the other seasonings, and sliced 1 small zucchini in with the corn and green beans. I also cooked the macaroni on the side, but I think I will omit it next time. My family loved it and it is perfect for the upcoming fall/winter season. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I found this recipe while looking for a vegetable soup recipe. I don't consider it a true vegetable soup since it calls for ground beef, but it sounded good and simple, so I just went with it. I substituted italian sausage for the ground beef, and instead of a can of diced tomatoes I just cut up a big bowl of late summer, homegrown juicy tomatoes, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States