Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have never liked vegetable soup but I realized last night it's because I have only had the canned vegetable soup. This was great, I did use 24oz of beef stock instead of water and added 1 tablespoon of garlic powder as LGREEN2 suggested. Also did not use corn or macaroni. My wife loved it also so I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is a great, hearty soup for the winter. Easy to make and the flavor was better the second day. I used all of the ingredients but I don't measure when it comes to soup so I add lots of carrots, celery, etc. Also I used frozen vegetables instead of canned. It was too thick for me so I added extra beef stock. CarolL-CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have always loved my mother's vegetable soup recipe but this is a much easier recipe and tastes almost the same! My only change was that I sautéed the mirepoix first in a little olive oil until the onion was translucent then added the garlic for 30 seconds before adding the beef. After draining some of the fat (not much since I used 90% lean), I added the rest of the ingredients in Step 1, opting to use beef broth instead of water and bouillon. I then let it simmer for about an hour and a half. I added the cabbage and green beans during the last 15 minutes (omitted the corn because of a family food allergy) and cooked the pasta separately (so that I could control the doneness) adding that just before serving. I did not have to adjust any of the seasonings except I did use a little salt and pepper since I used all low-sodium canned ingredients. After reading the other reviews, I agree that you have to use more liquid. I started out with 2-3 cups of broth then ended up adding another 2 ½ cups towards the end. It is more like a stew that a soup but totally delicious and very hearty. This is not a wimpy vegetable soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Added homemade veggie broth and mushrooms to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yummy! I took the advice of another reviewer and added some hot turkey sausage and a little crush red pepper. It was delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I needed a new idea for dinner and found this recipe in my email box from allrecipes.com. The recipe sounded delicious and it turned out great! The whole family loved it! Fantastic winter dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Not much flavor but has the basics. Add a few chili flakes (1/2 tsp or to taste), 3 bay leaves, 1 T minced garlic and a pkg of onion soup mix (instead of the bouillon) and then it's a 5! I also left out the cabbage and canned green beans (fresh would be good) and used 8 oz of tomato sauce instead of 15 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was a wonderful soup! The only things I changed were browning the meat with the onions in a T of olive oil, using beef soup base instead of the bouillon granules, adding four cups water and leaving out the corn. Oh, and I adjusted the spices since I added more water. This soup is flavorful even without simmering all day! Unlike others I left the cabbage in since we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorahbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Soooo delicious! I do add more garlic and basil but that is just personal preference.. Beyond that i use 4 cups of beef broth and skip the water and bouillon. I love this soup!!! Hearty and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this today and it was excellent. Most of my soup was the actual recipe as written but I too bumped it up a bit and made this with the "everyone in the pool mentality". I added zucchini, squash and kale to the soup. This is the first time I actually liked Kale...go figure! I used one can of beef broth (low sodium), 2 cups of water and two packets of beef bouillon. I used the dry herbs liberally and increased the garlic. I felt the need to add some garlic salt. I too used elbow macaroni and kept it out of the soup and added only when serving. My teenage daughter, who was convinced she would hate it, broke out a big smile and ate two bowls. 'Nuff said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States