Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Wow - this soup is sooo good! I've never been much of a soup person, but this recipe has got me wanting to make them more often. It's very filling and I feel good about eating it because it's so healthy. I did make some slight modifications. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2; Replaced beef bouillion and water with 4 cups of prepared beef broth; drained the corn and beans; and omitted the pasta. I followed the rest according to instructions. I served the soup over brown rice which was super tasty! I didn't want to include the pasta because I'm planning on eating this throughout the week and didn't want the pasta to get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I use beef broth instead of water and boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made this recipe and thought it was excellent. I only gave it 4 stars though because I did have to double up on the spicing - once this was done it was fantastic. I also had to add more water; otherwise it was more of a stew with very little liquid (it does say to add more water if necessary but I can't see how you could not!)! It was pretty quick to prepare because I didn't have to make little meatballs. Also, I am trying to feed my family a little less meat and I used 3/4 pound of ground beef. You could get away with 1/2 a pound and definitely use ground chicken or turkey instead. My teenage boys loved it and even had it for breakfast - low fat (make sure you use extra lean meat), high protein and lots of veggies. Just what we're supposed to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
very good soup perfect for a cold winters day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMBA1969

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
cut down on the water and used a large can of beef broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. So---used water in place of broth & bouillon, diced Italian toms, one can red beans, no green beans, spinach instead of cabbage. Excellent week night meal after a busy work day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe, I used ground turkey and potatoes instead of macaroni, I also did not have any cabbage so I did not use that. Oh and we added some frozen mixed veggies in, and it was a great addition, plus turkey stock I had frozen from our turkey at Thanksgiving and no water just the stock, I think that is why it has great flavor we have been eating it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Sooooooooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a great vegetable soup. Personally I think I would have left out the ground beef. Not that I'm a vegetarian, there was just this wonderful smell that it wouldn't have been missed. Next time I think that's what I'll do. I also added tomato juice for the extra liquid. A great stoup! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today, except subbed ground bison for the beef (barely any fat!) and I doubled all ingredients. I don't understand how anyone said it was bland! I put in the exact amount of spices & it is very hearty! Maybe the bison added a better flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States