Italian Vegetable Soup with Beans, Spinach & Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This soup is great, and it makes a TON! I initially forgot to serve it with the pesto, and I thought it was good, but the addition of the pesto makes it remarkable. I added 2 T. of Italian seasoning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Outstanding! I added some squash I had handy, and a bit of garlic powder. For the pesto, I used the Pesto del Sol from this site, but the soup was also excellent without the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This really needed something. I added garlic and a little Italian seasoning but it was still missing something. Maybe it was the potatoes. I left those out in favor of whole wheat seashell noodles. It was still pretty good though. And yes it does make a ton! Update: All it was missing was time. I had some for lunch today and it was unbelievable. The flavors really meld together well. My preschooler, who refused to eat anymore after her two no-thank-you bites last night, begged for her own bowl after tasting mine today. Her eyes got huge and she pronounced it delish. I do however wish I had stuck with my instincts and froze half of the batch. If you cook the starch (potatoes or noodles) separately the soup should freeze beautifully. Then just add noodles after you unthaw your soup. There is no way we can eat all of this before it spoils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a superbly delicious soup! I used another reviewers idea of using orzo in place of the potatoes. It worked well. Definitely don't forget the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Tasty! I also sauteed some garlic with the onion and sprinkled with shredded parmesan cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was delicious! One of my first few attempts at making soup, and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the potato, and substituted cooked orzo in its place. I cooked the orzo separately, then just put a spoonful in the bottom of each bowl. I thought the orzo went more with the Italian soup idea than potatoes... But definitely a do-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This soup is excellent. It is nutricious and quite filling. Great for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My husband and I DEVOURED this soup. I can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow! The changes I made were based on necessity more than anything else; I needed to use what I had on hand. I added 3 cloves of crushed fresh garlic and used a frozen mix of onion, celery and red pepper rather than the fresh. I put in a whole 9 oz. bag of fresh spinach and a ginormous dollop of chicken flavor Better Than Bouillon. I did NOT put in any salt and pepper (the BTB was salty enough)but did add a generous teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I also tossed about two tablespoons of the pesto directly into the soup. I didn't use potatoes OR orzo and didn't miss it one bit. I threw all the ingredients together and let simmer for about 15 minutes then turned off the heat. I let it sit on the stove for a couple of hours before dinner to let the flavors meld and then gave it a quick re-heat before serving. I sprinkled it with fresh parmesan and served it with a slice of Uno's calzone and a green salad. Yeah, baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This soup hit the spot! It was just what I was hoping for. I added some basil to the olive oil and garlic to the onions. Definitely would salt and pepper it more if I could go back, this time I didn't and ended up adding some to my individual dish which really made it flavorful. I also threw in some cooked acini di pepe pasta, but the soup was good by itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This soup was very good with the addition of basil. I added some leftover roasted chicken, too, and made a meal out of it with some toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States