Italian Vegetable Soup with Beans, Spinach & Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I use sweet potato instead of regular. I omit the celery and bell pepper. I also use vegan pesto (basil, olive oil, garlic, nutritional yeast) and if you use a vegetable broth, it is a totally vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a great soup. I just added a small jar of pesto (I doubled it for a potluck) and it wasn't too much. I also added sour cream to my son's to cool it off and it actually tasted like a very yummy cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
WOW! This soup has such a depth of flavor it is amazing! I did use 5 cloves garlic, allowed soup to simmer for a few hours and stirred about 6 spoonfuls of pesto into the soup just before taking off the heat as suggested by a few other reviewers (do not add canned white beans until 15 - 20 minutes before end of cook time or they will break down). I made soup 1 day ahead so the flavors had ample time to marry and develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A spectacular recipe! I was running late and the kids were starving but this came together in a flash. I admit I was worried it would taste bland but the pesto made all the difference. Heed the comments below about making the potatoes/pasta separately so you can freeze it because unless you are feeding a group of people you are going to have soup left over. While I loved it with the potatoes I'll bet it will be good with pasta too so I'll try that next time. This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Yummy! Excellent soup, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was a great soup! The flavors melded really well together. I didn't put in the carrots (didn't have any) and forgot the peas but, it didn't harm the flavor at all. I didn't use the canned beans and soaked my own. Next time, I will use maybe 4 cups more of liquid because the beans and potatoes soaked up what I did put in. Also, like others, I used Italian seasoning. I will definitely be making this for many winters to come! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
A very good vegetable rich soup choice. Love the addition of pesto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Nothing special. If anything, we felt that there is too much going on in this soup. Nothing stands out because there like 20 things in it. I did however make my own vegetable stock first, which was awesome; as always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My husband and I reallyliked this recipe. I added the pesto right in, and added some chopped yellow squash, green onions and hamburger. I will be making this again for our next family gathering. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a good basic recipe that needed "something" Hubby and I liked it but felt that it was missing something that we couldn't figure out. It was a little bland. I added garlic to the onion when cooking and added some parmesan cheese too. Will make again but will probably change up a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States