Italian Vegetable Soup with Beans, Spinach & Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Violet
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Healthy, tasty, well balanced, and very filling recipe! I made minor modifications based on other reviews and personal preferences, but the recipe would have been great without any changes. I sauteed 5 minced garlic cloves with the onion, I used a vegetable broth since I am a vegetarian, I cooked orzo separately and added some to each bowl, and I put the pesto directly in the pot (6 spoonfuls). My family ate this for dinner for three days in a row and never tired of it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was my first time to cook a recipe from this site. I had some ingredients and my wife suggested I put them in the ingredients search and this recipe popped up. This is delicious soup. I changed a few things with the recipe. I added a 1/4 of white wine and a teaspoon of salt and a half teaspoon of pepper. I added chicken which I sauteed in olive oil and garlic (1 tbls) first and then added another tablespoon of garlic to the onion as I sauteed them in the soup kettle. My wife added little parmasean cheese after I had put the soup in the bowl. THe soup was complimented nicely with a dry white wine and a New Belgium organic wheat beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This soup was very good with the addition of basil. I added some leftover roasted chicken, too, and made a meal out of it with some toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My husband and I DEVOURED this soup. I can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow! The changes I made were based on necessity more than anything else; I needed to use what I had on hand. I added 3 cloves of crushed fresh garlic and used a frozen mix of onion, celery and red pepper rather than the fresh. I put in a whole 9 oz. bag of fresh spinach and a ginormous dollop of chicken flavor Better Than Bouillon. I did NOT put in any salt and pepper (the BTB was salty enough)but did add a generous teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I also tossed about two tablespoons of the pesto directly into the soup. I didn't use potatoes OR orzo and didn't miss it one bit. I threw all the ingredients together and let simmer for about 15 minutes then turned off the heat. I let it sit on the stove for a couple of hours before dinner to let the flavors meld and then gave it a quick re-heat before serving. I sprinkled it with fresh parmesan and served it with a slice of Uno's calzone and a green salad. Yeah, baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a superbly delicious soup! I used another reviewers idea of using orzo in place of the potatoes. It worked well. Definitely don't forget the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was good, but I made some changes. I used turkey broth instead of chicken and escarole instead of spinach just because I had them in the freezer. I also used a mix of red and yellow pepper and omitted the peas. I used a can of pinto and cannellini beans. I found the soup to be a bit bland so I added some dried basil and some red pepper flakes in addition to the salt and pepper. I added a couple of cups of cooked orzo and a sprinkling of grated asiago. I also served it with a side of garlic bread. TFS ETA-Make sure you double or even triple the broth if you are going to add cooked orzo. It will use up all the liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I thought this was an "okay" recipe. The soup itself was very bland. The pesto did add a nice touch, but there was nothing special about it. I will not make this again, and will try adding some Italian sausage to the remainder of this batch to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This really needed something. I added garlic and a little Italian seasoning but it was still missing something. Maybe it was the potatoes. I left those out in favor of whole wheat seashell noodles. It was still pretty good though. And yes it does make a ton! Update: All it was missing was time. I had some for lunch today and it was unbelievable. The flavors really meld together well. My preschooler, who refused to eat anymore after her two no-thank-you bites last night, begged for her own bowl after tasting mine today. Her eyes got huge and she pronounced it delish. I do however wish I had stuck with my instincts and froze half of the batch. If you cook the starch (potatoes or noodles) separately the soup should freeze beautifully. Then just add noodles after you unthaw your soup. There is no way we can eat all of this before it spoils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was delicious! One of my first few attempts at making soup, and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the potato, and substituted cooked orzo in its place. I cooked the orzo separately, then just put a spoonful in the bottom of each bowl. I thought the orzo went more with the Italian soup idea than potatoes... But definitely a do-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This soup hit the spot! It was just what I was hoping for. I added some basil to the olive oil and garlic to the onions. Definitely would salt and pepper it more if I could go back, this time I didn't and ended up adding some to my individual dish which really made it flavorful. I also threw in some cooked acini di pepe pasta, but the soup was good by itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States