Italian Vegetable Soup with Beans, Spinach & Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by deet31483
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I halved the recipe but used 4-5 cups of broth and it came out just right. As others have said, it definitely needs some seasoning (basil, oregano) and a good amount of pesto. With some parmesan cheese on top, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good, healthy soup! Makes a lot. Used both white and sweet potatoes. Also, added Schwans mini pasta blend that has red pepper, corn, peas, carrots and mini bow tie pasta. Added the pesto into the soup - gave it tons of flavor. Used unsalted chicken broth. Smells good, too! It's on the winter soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved it! Made some changes based on reviews and what I had: - took out celery and peppers and peas - added garlic w/the garlic and leeks with the other veggies - used one can cannellini beans and one can butter beans - added dried oregano, basil, parsley YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This soup is awesome. I used blue potatoes and added corn. The kids now call this Rainbow Soup, and it's a perfect name! Great recipe. I also top with shredded cheese or sour cream for the kids, who like creamy ;). I leave those extra calories off for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Wonderful, and so healthy! Be SURE and use the pesto, or it's not that flavorful (I used lowfat pesto, and it was great). Also, chop the spinach first, or it will be a little messy to eat. I used 6 small white potatoes (wasn't sure how much a pound was without a scale), and added 1 1/2 tsp. salt + 1/4 tsp. pepper to the soup. Perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I was surprised how quickly this soup went together -- I had it on the table in about an hour. I mixed a healthy dose of pesto in with the soup (rather than using as a dollop/topping). I cut the potatoes into large dices so they would hold up to freezing/reheating. I'll definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is probably one of the best soups that I have ever had. I cut the recipe in half and the only thing I changed was adding 1 extra cup of chicken broth. The pesto gave it wonderful flavor. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Had to add a lot of salt/pepper for taste.. Was not impressed with overall end result. Also, recipe stated that it made 10 servings and I got 5 decent sized servings out of..making the overall calories not worth the effort for the final result. However, if I do make it again NOTE the pesto is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzjenn
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I use sweet potato instead of regular. I omit the celery and bell pepper. I also use vegan pesto (basil, olive oil, garlic, nutritional yeast) and if you use a vegetable broth, it is a totally vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a great soup. I just added a small jar of pesto (I doubled it for a potluck) and it wasn't too much. I also added sour cream to my son's to cool it off and it actually tasted like a very yummy cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States