Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've made this soup several times now and we always enjoy it. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but now I change it up to suit what's in our fridge and pantry on any given day. But that's the beauty of this soup, it's very versatile. Quick and healthy :) Today I made it with corn and I also threw in some ABC noodles. Mykids love this soup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is something I make almost weekly (sometimes more). It's really great for when all my veggies are starting to go bad. Very easy to customize...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this as a low calorie, vegetarian, easy, filling meal. Soups are great to tweak to personal taste. My personal taste is to use 3 carrots and 2 zucchini and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used macaroni alphabet pasta to entice my kids. DO NOT substitute anything for pearl onions, nothing else will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Wonderful recipe and great for adapting to whatever veggies, beans or pasta you have on hand. I have made this 4 times now, and each time I play with ingredients following the basic recipe. Every time I have gotten great respnse from a very picky family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Yum! Easy and quite tasty. I used orzo pasta instead of macaroni and doubled the garlic. Definitley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this recipe but used chicken broth and chicken bouillon. I omitted the green beans because I didn’t have any. And I used mini bow tie pasta and cooked it separately. This was a nice vegetable soup and easy to throw together. One can of kidney beans seemed a little sparse, so next time I’ll add a second can. UPDATE 1/17/14: I made this again as follows: I used chicken broth and chicken bouillon as before, the tomatoes, 1 cup each of carrots, celery and pearl onions, no green beans, macaroni, or beans. I used two zucchini and one yellow summer squash. Great flavor and really low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
i had to add a little more chicken broth. This is a very good low fat meal. And make a great left over. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I added 1 more carrot and 1 more celery. Hubby doesn't like pasta or beans in soup, so I substituted with 2 Yukon Gold potatoes. I sauteed the carrots, celery and garlic with a little olive oil just until the garlic is fragrant. I used fresh green beans. Added some frozen sweet corn. A tiny pinch of dried oregano. Some s & p. I served it with grilled cheese sandwich. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe! I didn't have italian sausage so I substitued Kielbasa. I also used chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth. Spiced up a little extra to my taste, and it was loved by all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I had to double the ingredients and STILL RAN OUT before everybody had their share; Next time I will have to quadruple the ingredients. Everybody went CRAZY over this recipe. Well done Jana Thornton! I am planning on making this again this month for an Easter party with my best friend, her family, and my family together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States