Italian Turkey Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These are excellent. I made them generally as written, but with the following minor changes: used Panko bread crumbs instead of italian (only because I didn't have Italian on hand), used chopped fresh basil instead of the fresh oregano but did put in about 1/2 tsp dried oregano so as not to miss out on its flavor, 3/4 tsp dried rosemary instead of fresh, 1/2 tsp regular mustard (no dry mustard on hand). Flavor is great. In fact, they remind me of italian sausage (yum). These did not need a broiler pan....the turkey didn't produce any fat or run-off. In fact, 30 minutes was a little too long and mine were a touch dry. I had scaled the recipe down to 1 lb ground turkey and rolled the meatballs relatively small, so maybe that had something to do with it. Next time I'll start checking them at 20 minutes and see when they're done. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were the best turkey meatballs I've ever made. I used the fresh oregano, rosemary, and parsley, and I think that made a big difference. I also cut down the crushed red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon which was perfectly spicy enough. I also have no idea what Melt is so I just sprayed the broiler pan with an olive oil Pam spray. I served simply over thin spaghetti with a light marinara sauce and a side of broccoli rabe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Used jarred spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, grated vs. shredded parm, and proportional dried parsley, ground rosemary and a little less fresh oregano per other reviewer's recommendation. Very flavorful! The recipe for 1 pound of turkey perfectly made 20 meatballs with my cookie dough scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved this! I actually became a member of All Recipes just to rate it! I did, unfortunately, have to make some changes based on what was in my kitchen. Plus, I took some advice from Michelle A's comment. I used 1 pound of 93% lean ground turkey. 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 3/4 tsp dried rosemary, 1.5 Tbsp fresh basil, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper (hubby doesn't like spicy), 3 Tbsp finely chopped yellow onions, and 1 Tbsp light butter. Everything else was as listed above. I made 20 meatballs and baked for 20 minutes which was perfect. Tastes like a sausage meatball! Hubby asked me to be sure to not loose this recipe. 1 meatball made with my changes is 60 calories and 2.5 g fat. Still plan to try the recipe as written, but I had to rate it since it is a FABULOUS base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe and easy to make! I substituted grated parmesan for shredded and would recommend a little less oregano next time around. But they were AMAZING! Great addition to almost any pasta based casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The meatballs were very flavorful with the tomato sauce and herbs. I omitted the Parmesan cheese and Melt® Organic Buttery Spread because of my dairy allergy. The meatballs were a little dry with out those ingredients. Next time I'll add an 1/8 cup of olive oil. I used my ice cream scoop to portion out each meatball but they were huge. I took each "ice cream scoop" of meatball and cut it in half and it was still huge. I wish I had used a smaller scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLooWho

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Loved these meatballs. They turned out great and my husband didn"t know they were turkey. He"s used to beef and he liked them. I will definitely make these often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very easy and very good! This was my first attempt at meatballs. I didn't have bread crumbs so I crushed cheese and garlic croutons in the blender. I also used dry parsley, oregano, & rosemary because I didn't have fresh herbs on hand. I added a dash of worcestershire sauce to the tomato pasta sauce, and baked them on a cookie sheet. They were awesome with our spaghetti! Then my mother accidently overbaked them so I added about 1 1/2 cups of barbeque sauce and we had another delicious meal with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These were just OK. I followed the recipe exactly. Just wasn't impressed. I would not make them again. The parsley made the meatballs a little strong for my taste. I don't waste food so I'll finish them. I ended up adding turkey gravy and mixing it with rice to tone down the parsley flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made these just as recipe instructed minus the Melt. Excellent meatballs. Dropped temp just tad while cooking to 385° and cooked until internal temp of 180-190 was reached, about 30min. Kids ate them up with only compliments. Now this recipe' s a keeper and plan to make often as much healthier than traditional meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States