Italian Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was really enjoyed by the adults that ate it, but not by the children. They couldn't get past the zucchini in the soup, so they ended up eating the lentil soup I had made for me. (I am a vegetarian). The only change I made was to substitute cubed chicken for the kidney beans. ( I thought the kidney beans would turn off the children) All in all a great recipe that was loved by all the adults who tried it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I cooked turkey italian sausage into small pieces before the first step. I omitted (because I didn't have them) zucchini and celery. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
A nice, simple soup. The only changes I made were to leave out the celery (didn't have it) and saute the onion, carrot, tomato, and garlic in some olive oil before adding the broth. I had gorgeous tomatoes and that really helped with the flavor, and a sprinkling of Parmesan was just the right finishing touch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Loved this, tho’ I did improvise somewhat (and once I tinkered with it a 5-star soup). I detested carrots as a kid and still do – and I detest the sweetness they lend to stocks and soups, so I left them out. I didn’t cook the celery and onion in the broth itself, but instead sweated them in some olive oil and added minced garlic. For the broth I preferred beef to chicken for its heartier flavor, and I just happened to have some homemade in the freezer that I had made with the bones of a prime rib roast – and the bits of beef in it were nice in this soup. I omitted the thyme, and frankly used no other seasoning than a good glug of red wine and a finish of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano at the end. Sure, additional or different vegetables could be used, but I enjoyed the simplicity of just the zucchini and plum tomatoes (if you can’t find red-ripe ones, DO use a good canned tomato instead for best flavor). I had the cutest little teeny squash-filled ravioli (from Italy) and used that instead of the tortellini. As for the beans, I used the more fitting, in my humble opinion, cannellini beans (white kidney beans) rather than the red. This was excellent and unbelievably prepared in the time it took to boil the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe is delicious! it was my first time making soup from scratch and it turned out wonderful. A great hearty soup for the fall. A couple of things I changed was I used Italian seasoning instead of thyme and tiny tri-colour heirloom tomatoes instead of plum. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I THINK THIS RECIPE DESERVES MORE THAN 5 STARS I WOULD GIVE IT AT LEAST A 9. MY COMPANY JUST LOVED IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I found it needed more broth than the recipe called for. Used organic veggie broth instead of chicken broth. One daughter and I thought it was worth 5 stars, the other daughter thought 4 stars, and my husband said 3 stars because it didn't have any meat. He used to be OK eating a vegetarian meal once a week (I am vegetarian and he isn't) but maybe not any more. Next time, I will slice up some Italian sausage to put in his. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was excellent!! I had a few changes though...I used green beans instead of zucchini and Italian seasoning instead of thyme (don't like either of them). Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this and it was wonderful. I added italian sausage to it, used canned tomatoes and used italian seasoning in place of the thyme. Highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States