Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My first attempt ended in disaster as I knocked the large glass bowl I was using to mold the torte into fell from my kitchen island onto the ceramic tile...there was no rescuing it from the broken glass. I did have enough of the ingredients reserved for a mini-version and was pleased it came out so nicely. I have since just made it again and used paper towels placed on plastic cling wrap in lieu of cheesecloth and it worked fine. I also put it in the freezer for one hour rather than 3 hours in the fridge with an excellent outcome. This is one of those dishes that everyone keeps coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capn Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this but add chopped black olives and chopped pistachios....it is one of those things you bring to a party that people always ask you for the recipe! Be sure the provolone cheese is not sliced thick...makes it difficult to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that I have used several times, all with great success. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. That is the only reason that I was not going to leave a review. I hate the thought that others will catch on, make and serve it and then it won't be quite as special when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am giving this a 5 because everyone at the party I brought it to raved about it. I did like it but I eat these ingredients a lot so it wasn't so "new" to me. I used marinated sundried tomatoes because I had them in my cupboard and since I didn't have cheesecloth, I dampened coffee filters and lined the pan with them. They worked quite well. I wasn't sure how the provolone top and bottom would work or look and it worked and looked just fine. I did cut the torte in half when I put it on the serving platter so people could see the ingredients and the colors. I thought a cheese spreader would do the trick but decided to put a sharp knife out so people could make nice, clean slices. Thanks for the recipe and adding to my stash of "yummy" treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Terrific appetizer! Served at a Italian wine tasting and was asked for recipe by all! I would suggest scaling the recipe in half for a group of up to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is delicious, beautiful, and easy. I suggest using half the pesto though, because the full 8 oz. would be overpowering, I think. Follow the rest of the directions exactly and the end results are phenomenal and just a beautiful presentation. I used a 1 qt. faberware bowl and got a lovely dome with a small diameter, which sat very nicely within a ring of crackers. I did use a food processor to chop the sun dried tomatoes. A pie spatula with a serrated edge makes a great serving tool for this. One of my guests was so overwhelmed by this appetizer, she didn't want to eat any dinner! and everyone else loved it too. I wouldn' t halve it like others have suggested because you're going to want the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an excellent appetizer with a flavor that belies the amount of time that goes into making it. I used mini spring form pans and made three small tortes. Served with crisp crostini, it was absolutely delicious. This would be a great appetizer to serve at an appetizer only party, as it is quite filling. I noticed that some people used sun dried tomatoes in oil and I am very glad that I did not. The clean taste of the tomatoes was a great contrast to the oily pesto. I will definitely serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I made this for the first time for a holiday party - it was a hit - made it again recently for a work party. I substituted goat cheese for the provolone, the first time because I had it in the refrigerator and it sounded good, the second time because it really was good! I also ground up pine nuts and sprinkled it over the top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The presentation was beautiful -- it was so tasty. I have had the recipe as cited at a brunch, and I made it substituting roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes. Both were totally delish. I followed a previous suggestion, added some fat free half and half and served it over penne pasta the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States