Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Walt Pulcini
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe! I'm glad someone said to cut the Pesto in 1/2. Otherwise, it would just be too much. I even cut it back a little more the second time I made it. Otherwise make it just as it says and it will come out great! I added a design on top with roasted red peppers and a piece of olive. I uploaded a picture. You can see that the finished piece was nice and round (molded it in a bowl) and added the design. Put your design in the bowl FIRST (on your cheesecloth)then build on top of it so that when you flip it over, it's on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
this was a BIG hit!! everyone loved it! Great presentation, great taste! I always read the reviews before I make a recipe, they always help! I used the recipe for pesto from this site that uses walnuts instead of pine nuts, it was very good!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
thanks for this recipe, the only thing I didn't like was the sun-dried tomatoes. I had never used sun-dried tomatoes before. I don't like the texture of them. The left over tort I placed the layers on flour tortilla shell rolled then sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This dish was quick and easy to make... and while I'm not a fan of Italian food, this was great stuff. It was a hit @ the italian themed dinner party too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is delicious, beautiful, and easy. I suggest using half the pesto though, because the full 8 oz. would be overpowering, I think. Follow the rest of the directions exactly and the end results are phenomenal and just a beautiful presentation. I used a 1 qt. faberware bowl and got a lovely dome with a small diameter, which sat very nicely within a ring of crackers. I did use a food processor to chop the sun dried tomatoes. A pie spatula with a serrated edge makes a great serving tool for this. One of my guests was so overwhelmed by this appetizer, she didn't want to eat any dinner! and everyone else loved it too. I wouldn' t halve it like others have suggested because you're going to want the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Update - The first time I made the torte I followed the directions exactly and it was a very nice presentation. Then I got lazy . . . I processed the rehydrated sun-dried tomatoes in the food processor until finely chopped, added the cream cheese and minced garlic and blended the ingredients. I spread the cream cheese mixture on a large plate, topped it with the pesto and a shredded Italian cheese blend. EASY and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an excellent appetizer with a flavor that belies the amount of time that goes into making it. I used mini spring form pans and made three small tortes. Served with crisp crostini, it was absolutely delicious. This would be a great appetizer to serve at an appetizer only party, as it is quite filling. I noticed that some people used sun dried tomatoes in oil and I am very glad that I did not. The clean taste of the tomatoes was a great contrast to the oily pesto. I will definitely serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this for the 1st time for a party Friday night. The recipe was super easy. I didn't have cheesecloth so I went with another reviewers comments & used saran wrap with paper towels. You have to have the paper towels; I didn't realize how oily pesto is. I only used about 4oz of pesto & thought it was plenty. I knew I didn't have time to refrigerate the torte, so I left the cream cheese out about 10-15 minutes to soften & made the torte just before the party. I rolled up into a ball & served immediately. The recipe made plenty. I cut the ball in half. I put half out with (store bought) pita chips and the other half in the refigerator. We only ate the half I put out so I ended up with left overs! The torte was also good with tortilla chips & wheat thins. Next time I am going to make pita chips in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Love this recipe! This may be the only time I ever say add just one clove of garlic. I am a garlic-aholic and put in several ... I have to say it may have been a tad too much! other than that I used my medium square pampered chef bowl and it looked great! I sprinkled fresh parsley around (I hate cilantro)and a little paprika for color! I have also used several blades of chives tied in a bunch also looked great!! BTW I have also substituted roasted red peppers for tomatoes and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paprikasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RALWATTAR
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I just put the torte in the fridge, but I layered the left-over ingredients on crackers and they tasted absolutely AMAZING. Using my little brother's exact words, it tastes like "a party in my mouth". Update: I just served this at a party with bagutte slices and it was gone by the end. I would make this again. Fast but impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States