Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chicknchips
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Really good! Used tomato bruschetta and neufchatel cheese? Also I squeezed most of the oil out of the pesto and bruschetta. Even had to drain off the plate a bit after I had wrapped it in saran wrap. 1/2 recipe is plenty for 8 people. It was a delicious and colorful addition to our family Christmas Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Best ever! Had this at a baby shower -- made it twice so far and it is a HIT. Super easy. I was able to find minced sun dried tomatoes in a grocery store which made making this all the more easier. I also warmed it in the microwave to melt the provolone cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
It was okay... people enjoyed it, but it wasn't as phenomenal as I'd hoped for. Great to take to parties for sharing and you'll get compliments, I just wasn't personally crazy for it. I would recommend using good quality pesto....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this recipe for a holiday party and everyone raved about it! I loved it, wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this appetizer as is. It is delicous! And it looks cool too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this but add chopped black olives and chopped pistachios....it is one of those things you bring to a party that people always ask you for the recipe! Be sure the provolone cheese is not sliced thick...makes it difficult to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this for a party over the weekend and it was really spectacular. The flavor was amazing and it made such an impressive presentation. I made mine in a loaf pan lined with plastic wrap and cofffee filters (I didn't have cheesecloth) and it came out beautifully. I would imagine that homemade pesto would really bring it over the top but I didn't have time to make my own. I used store-bought pesto and store-bought sundried tomato bruschetta (both found in the pasta sauce aisle in the Acme supermarket) instead of straight sundried tomatoes. The flavor was awesome. It is a fantastic recipe and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting, Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was great! I was asked for the recipe by 3 different people. Looked very pretty and tasted delicious. A caution, don't go overboard on the garlic, I started to add more but am so glad I didn't. Because it's raw a little goes a really long way. I did cut down the amount of pesto just a bit and make sure to chop the sun dried tomatoes really well. I will definitely make this again-easy, impressive and fantastic for a party since you can make it ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
LOVED IT! I scaled the recipe way down, because it was just two of us eating it. I used a ramekin and used a round cutter to cut the cheese to fit perfectly inside. All of the flavors in this went perfectly together and I will definately be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States