Italian Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Not a bad salad. I think it could use a little more "oomph", maybe some fresh garlic and a touch quality balsamic vinegar to offset the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I make this all the time at home. The only difference with my recipe is a splash of red wine vinegar and some crumbled feta cheese on top - gives it more of a Greek flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I have been making this salad for over 30 years and my mother always made it when i was living at home. it is an all time favorite in our home. my son and daughter also make this salad in their homes for their family and they also love it. i add a bit of chopped garlic and a sprinkle of balsamic vineger and it tastes fabulous. when i don't have fresh oregano i use dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Five stars with white balsamic (four without-I LOVE vinegar, and it adds just the right finishing touch). I used more onion and cuke as well. Tasty, easy, simple salad. Highly recommend it. If you don't have fresh herbs available, dried Italian seasoning works fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very nice salad. Hadn't thought of adding gorgonzola to such a salad. My husband really appreciated that! Thanks for the idea. I agree with others who use some garlic (dried, roasted, or minced fresh garlic if making the salad ahead a little so it can mellow a bit in the dressing), one or more Italian styled pickled peppers, dried Italian herbs of one or more type when fresh are not available, and one vinegar or another (depending on the mood of the day and what's available), oh - and even a touch of sugar sometimes. Left the seeds in our more typical type cucumber, and it was simply refreshing anyway. Might add pasta or beans with this salad if the meal is lean in the carb or protein area as well. (pssst - Really, we only use sugar more as a seasoning to take the edge off of the vinegar, but mostly because we don't use enough oil to do the job traditionally.) I like to make this with extra vinegar and oil (more vinegar than oil) and use the whole salad to top a green salad. Yum! Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Simplicity at its best, capturing the bright summer flavors from the garden. You can’t go wrong with this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
So simple but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a very nice salad and easy to prepare. I used vegetables right from my garden including the oregano. We did add some vinegar to our salads as we like that bite it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Pretty good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Huge success in my house! I have been making it weekly. Husband and daughter just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States