Italian Teething Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by USBORNEBOOKFAIRY
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is just what I was looking for I did add 1/2 tsp double strength vanilla & 1 tsp cinnamon,which required me to add addl flour, also instead of rolling logs which was a little hard to do I made them about 1/2 inch think by 1 inch wide flat logs I used a fork to decorate. The dough was still sticky so I did roll the amount I was working with in flour. Also I found if I cut them before they dryed over night it was a much harder cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USBORNEBOOKFAIRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I made these last night,very easy recipe. The dough was sticky even after the extra cup of flour. I added a tsp of vanilla for flavor. After waiting over night I ended up blackening the bottoms of some. On the up side my 9 month old really likes them and so did the 2 year old I baby sit. So I'll make it again. I like the taste of the batter,so I was a little disappointed in the taste after cooking,but then again I was not cooking them for me,and thank God I am not teething,because those cookies live up to their name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I thought that babies under a year shouldn't have egg whites? even baked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These are great! However, instead of messing with the very sticky dough, I just used a ziplock/pastry bag to make the cookies individually, then let them harden over night. Really tasty, and perfect for coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My child loved these. I am only giving it a four because it includes eggs. I didn't realize until later that my five month shouldn't have egg whites. Luckily, he doesn't have a problem with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I didn't like them, baby didn't like them, they got moldy in 2 weeks. So they definitely don't last a month in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a super recipe for teething babies. I experimented using Splenda and it still turned out fine. I used cookie cutters for shapes before setting out overnight. Can also lay the soggy cookie to dry and it will be hard as new again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Can you add bananas or other flavouring to these cookies? Maybe some applesauce, bananas or blueberries? Has anyone tried it? My daughter doesn't like things that are plain... but she LOVES bananas, so adding some might make her more inclined to eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great for teething! My 7mth old loves them and so do my husband and I! I added some vanilla and a pinch of salt for flavour. The next time I make them I'll try cinnamon in them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyhorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe is great. However, to avoid giving my baby eggs, I used a vegan egg substitute. You use 1 tablespoon of flax seed meal and 3 tablespoons of water per egg. Boil it and it makes slimy, egg-like substance. It worked great! The cookies were tough and didn't break off into my son's mouth. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States