Italian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I thought this was a interesting change from the norm as I like Italian food (Northern that is) but still prefer the real deal when I spend a month in San Miguel de Allende. The recipe didn't include the sauteed peppers, onion and fresh tomato as shown in the photo and a touch of lime juice made it better. I make my own tortilla's and prefer to fill less and eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Easy to make, but won't make as is again. I think you really need to add mushrooms, ricotta cheese or something. Also I'd add the sauce to the meat mixture so it isn't so runny. I'm going to try this with large pasta shells and as a sub/hoagie I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I'm not a big cook, but wanted something easy and different, so I decided to try this recipe. I used ground turkey with the sweet Italian sausage and after reading other reviews, did not add the sugar to the traditional pasta sauce which was sweet enough. I did add green peppers at the end of cooking the meat. My husband liked the crispiness and flavor. I forgot to get the hard shells, so we used whole wheat soft shells and I also put ricotta cheese out to spread on the shells like we would put sour cream if making Mexican fajitas. Overall, this was a big hit! We all liked it better than we had expected! I was worried because one reviewer said not to use the soft shells, but we wrapped them like a fajita and we really enjoyed them, so I'll plain to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
i found the taco were so bland and unflavoured (bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scooby823976
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I added parm. cheese & red & green bell peppers! Something different & was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebring, Florida, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Loved this recipe. Was looking for an Mexi-Italian dish for my sons birthday. Found this and was suprised at how much we enjoyed it. I did garnish with cottage cheese, however ricotta and mushrooms would be great too. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I had to make these with the ingredients I had on hand. I used ALL chicken italian sausage instead of ground beef. I also omitted the sugar in the sauce cuz it is sweet enough. I tossed some minced garlic and italian seasoning in while browning the meat. I sauteed a sliced onion and red peppers to serve over the "tacos". Served with slices of mozzarella and provolone. Simple and budget meal that I think would please kids. Thanks for sharing Super Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This has become a stapple in our household. Very quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow - nice twist on regular 'ol hard shell tacos! This is kinda like traditional Mexican meets old school Italian. Like others, I was a bit skeptical but overall it's really good. It tastes like a meatball hoagie fused with a hard shell taco. So, if you like both of those you're bound to like this. My husband is a fan of both, so he really enjoyed this. Plus, it was quick and easy to put together for a weeknight meal. I seasoned the ground beef and sausage with a little minced garlic as well as Italian seasoning. I omitted with sugar from the jarred sauce as I used "Classico's Sweet Tomato Basil Sauce". I topped the "tacos" with a combination of mozzarella and parmesan cheeses. Overall, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Although I doubled the entire recipe (big eaters/teenagers at my house) I followed it exactly. It was AWESOME! It is now the new official taco of our house! I did add ricotta cheese to the bottom of the taco but that's just because we are huge ricotta cheese lovers! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States