Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is a tasty way to use those summer vegetables and introduce your kids to polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
My family loved this recipe, and it was a great new way to use the squash and zucchini coming out of the garden. I baked my polenta instead of frying it, and I also added the extra flavor of using Sun-dried tomato polenta. Very quick and easy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I really liked this recipe. I used wild mushroom polenta and added sliced mushrooms in addition to the squash. Great with pasta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
This is a really tasty dish and I've made it several times. I recently brought it to a potluck and received many compliments and requests for the recipe. I've used a couple of different seasoned polentas(sun-dried tomato, garlic & herb) and both are equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
This is a nice alternative for meat lovers who are trying to cut back. I find this dish has a simple taste. If you prefer spicy foods, I suggest adding italian spices, more garlic, dry chillies or a little bit of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Basic but delicious. You could do a number of things with different vegetables. I also made the polenta from scratch. I would recommend using less vegetables than required though, as I had far too many for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I thought this needed more than 1 cup of sauce. It also needed more spices, or perhaps a flavored polenta. The lightly browned mozarella cheese made the dish; otherwise it would have been too bland. I'd like to keep it veggie, but will possibly add some sweet or spicy sausage to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
What a great dish! I followed the original recipe, but with the addition of a few herbs over the polenta before vegetables and sauce were added. I also sauteed the veggies with 3 cloves of minced garlic and some salt, which really brought out the flavors. The taste and texture really evoked a "homemade, yet delightfully subtle" experience. Next time I'll be sure to add mushrooms and make the polenta from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This recipe is a great one for getting lots of vegetables in one meal. I used a bunch of veggies and the sundried tomato polenta. It came out very tasty - my first experiment with polenta and I plan to try it again. My husband & I loved this recipe, but the kids were not so excited about it. They are young (3 & 4) so it was probably a bit too many mixed tastes for them. Next time I may experiment with less kinds of veggies and more squash. I think I would like it with a different sauce instead of the spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Yummy recipe! I used Sun-dried tomato polenta on the advice of other reviewers, and otherwise kept the recipe the same. We thought it was very flavorful, especially set off by some good garlic bread. This was my first experience with polenta, and I'm sold now! (we used the refrigerated prepared polenta and it tasted fine to me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States