Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I liked it, kids thought it was OK, but the husband who doesn't "do" polenta didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is a rich and delicious dish. I didn't change a thing and loved it. I could only find corn meal mush for the next btach and I hope it is as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe. I made this for my in laws who I didnt know at the time hate polenta. Well they used to at least because they both had seconds of this recipe. It is so easy. To save time sometimes I will not fry the polenta but just slice it and lay it in the pan. I also made this for my mother who cant have onions instead we used garlic and it still tasted great. This is a very versital recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I've never had polenta before, I liked the veggies and the chese, but would not use the polenta on the bottom of the dish, didn't really add anything, would be good on top of rice or pasta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I've made several Summer squash recipes from this site and this is one of the best. My husband who is not a huge fan of Summer squash went back for seconds on this one and my 3 yr old even ate some. I did not have enough mozarella, so I combined it with cheddar. Yum. We served it w/ Italian crockpot chicken breats for a nice meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
We really liked this one. My 16 mo. old loved it. Good use of fresh veggies, and polenta is so versatile. Followed the recipe as is and even enjoyed the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
MMMmm. I just got finished eating this casserole. It was amazing! I did add about a pound spicy Italian sausage for my meat-loving hubby. Also, I am out of garlic salt so I added 3 cloves fresh garlic to the veggies and cooked it with them. I added extra sauce, though I didn't measure it. I just made sure all the veggies were covered (about 2/3 of a 26 oz jar). I couldn't find flavored polenta so I used plain with lots of salt and pepper and some Italian seasoning. I fried each side for a minute or two. We all loved it, including my two-year-old who kept saying, "I like polenta!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I loved this dish!! We aren't vegetarians so I added shredded chicken which seemed to soak up the sauce and it wasn't soggy at all. Highly recommend to get your daily dosage of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I hated the frying part and in the process said I will never make this again, but....after it came out of the oven.....oh yummy yummy! I will be making this again, maybe bake the polenta as someone suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie  S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Polenta frying was a mess,lot of oil popping, and it never got crisp, it was not worth the work that goes into it. Too many vegetables, not enough sauce, I added more and it still was not that great. Just a soggy vegetable casserole, will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States