Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I had some yellow squash left over from my farmers market basket that needed to be used up, so I decided to try this recipe. It was okay, but not what I was hoping for. I made my own polenta, using the "basic cheese polenta" recipe from this site, which was excellent. I think it was the yellow squash that I wasn't crazy about - which is no fault of the recipe's, just my opinion. If I make this again, I'll probably just skip the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
5 stars for the taste, but I had no luck with trying to fry my polenta (which is most likely because I'm nervous trying to fry anything!) I really wanted the crispiness on the outside of the polenta, so I might try to bake or broil it first next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I also made my own polenta for this recipe. It was FANTASTIC!! My brother, who is a chef, was very impressed and suggested I make it for our family reunion. I have made it twice and it was gone within hours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sundae7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Great cassarole! I substituted chopped artichoke hearts for the green pepper and I did not fry the polenta. Just sliced it thin and covered the bottom of my cassarole dish. Served it as a side dish to grilled chicken breasts. Yummy! Definitely will make this again. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri330

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
It was just okay. It could really use some tomatoes and more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I've made this recipe several times so I'm def. a fan. The first time I made it I fried the polenta as recommended but quickly decided that it was a wasted effort at least for my taste. I just cube the polenta, toss it in my dish and pour the sauteed veggies over it. I don't saute the squash as long as the onion so it still has some bite left after baking and I also tweek my seasonings a little every time I make it. All in all this is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have made this a number of times and it is becoming a family favorite. I really think that frying the polenta adds an essential flavor. To minimize the amount of oil you use make sure you use a good nonstick pan and get the oil (olive) fairly hot. I always use about twice the amount of sauce--at least 2 cups and fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. Polenta is pretty easy to make, although it does add to the work involved in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I agree with baking the polenta. I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanlopez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Awesome! May try to cook polenta in oven next time instead of frying. Otherwise, will definetly make again, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very good and will make it again. Made it with the Basic Cheese Polenta recipe found on this site as someone else had suggested. The polenta recipe makes extra, so I fried the rest and ate it while waiting for the casserole to bake. The only change I might make is to remove the seeds from the squash. I also substituted the pre-packaged Italian 5-cheese blend for the mozzarella / parmesan topping, just because it sounded better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States