Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is really good. I have never had a "true" Italian sandwich before. Being from the mid-west. But, these are fabulous. My husband who only ate the meats, cheese and lettuce with dressing loved it. Of course it was even better with all of the toppings for my sandwich. We didn't have every ingredient couldn't get the sausage in the local store, but was still a sandwich my picky husband was very happy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
OH MY GOD!!! My husband is from Boston and when I told him I was making Italians at home he wasn't too jazzed. Man, did he change his tune! We live in FL now, so it's not as easy to get a quality sandwich here as it is back home. I left out the lettuce for fear it would get soggy, and added it at the end. I used ham, capicola, and salami. Totally awesome.....thanks a million! BTW: this dressing (minus the lettuce) makes an awesome topping for bruchetta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
EXCELLENT! If you like true italian tasting sub sandwiches, this recipe is it. I used all the meats called for in this recipe for authentic italian taste. My only change was romaine lettuce chopped instead of the red leaf as that is what I had on hand. I also broiled the sandwich slightly with the cheese before adding the dressing/lettuce. The dressing was very tasty! My kids dont care for the capacola so the 2nd time I made them I left it off of theirs and they like it better that way. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is a five star recipe because it is so easy to tailor to your own tastes. I made a few changes; when making the "salad" portion, I decreased the garlic, left the lettuce out until the final prep, and I also did not feel it needed to be refrigerated. I also only let it sit for 15 min. while I prepped the remaining ingredients. I also added salt and pepper to the dressing. Instead of Proscuitto, I chose Mortadella. Like other reviewers, I like to heat the broiler and give the sandwich just a minute to melt the cheese. I also like the bread to have either mayo or butter on it. I left out the Dills and serve it with Pepperocinis. In any case, this recipe has everything to recreate your favorite Italian Deli Sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. Our only change was to leave out the pickles and use mild banana peppers instead as our family loves them. Will definitely make again! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Here's what you need to do to make these more authentic.... In step one, omit the lettuce, as it will only get soggy anyway. Instead of adding your dill pickle slices at the end of the recipe, chop them up along with the onion and tomatoes and add them here. After you let it sit and marinate in the fridge for an hour or so, you get this super delicious relish type of spread for your subs. Its the perfect match for the real Italian cold cuts! Don't skimp on the quality of the meat here either. Its well worth the extra money to buy the good stuff. I brought these to a party and they were quickly devoured. I'm originally from Boston where you can always get a great Italian sub at any one of the many "Mom & Pop" delis. However, I now live in the mid-west and you cannot find a decent Italian sub here! Some places actually use ham and bologna, and call it Italian!!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU and THANKS AGAIN for this recipe! For me its like a little taste of "home"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I thought this was good. My wife said it was great. I rate it great. Any questions ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
We liked these a lot. I followed the recipe exactly but put the sandwiches under the boiler to melt the cheese before putting on the salad mixture & didn't use a tomato. We didn't use all the salad mixture, there was too much, next time I'll make half of it. These sanwhiches were huge, I would recommed halving the recipe but keeping the number of sandwhiches the same. Thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Really great recipe. I doubled the dressing and really didn't need to at all. Let the onion and tomato marinate for 5 hours before dinner. Added the lettuce at the last minute to keep it crispy. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I make this sandwich as well, but I top it off with roasted red peppers (in the jar from the grocery store). Absolutely the best!!! It's my favorite part of the sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States