Italian Subs - Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I had the dressing on the salad for more than 15 minutes, and it didn't wilt, but I didn't refrigerate it. I thought the salad was just right and a great combo with the meat and cheese. I also threw the bread and cheese (with a little butter) under the broiler for a few minutes to toast it and melt the cheese- yum! Brought back memories of great Italian grinders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The salad makes this sandwich a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Even using only salami this is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I've made this for a few super bowl parties and it's always a big hit. The topping is quite strong so you may want to tame down the garlic a little if you're a little wimpy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is quite delicious. I made a few changes to suit the tastes of the people I was feeding (and myself). I used red wine vinegar instead of white, and it worked just fine. Italian seasoning replaced the other herbs in the recipe (I didn't have all of them so I just went with Italian - also worked just fine). Like others, I added the chopped lettuce to the mixture when it came out of the fridge as opposed to when it went in. The biggest change I made was to microwave butter and chopped garlic for a nice creamy garlic butter and then spread this all over the bottom half of the sliced French bread. I then covered this in provolone cheese and broiled until it was melted. As a finishing touch, I added a helping of homemade roasted red peppers to the sandwich and served with pepperoncinis. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The sub sauce recipe rocks! I make it in a jar and let it set in the fridge. I use all ingredients listed but put shredded lettuce, sliced tomato and sliced onion on roll first, then pour sauce on, add meat and top with cheese..Excellent!..If you let them sit wrapped in plastic in fridge for a few hours...even better! Hubby makes me add mayo to his, but not necessary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was really good..being from chicago, I added some giardeira to the salad mix as well..I thought it could have used just a little more "oomph"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great Italian sandwich! I used all the ingredients except the dill pickle and put it on AR recipe: Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls. I split and toasted the buns a little, added the rest of ingredients and toasted in the toaster oven. The results were a great tasting and very filling sandwich. This was wonderful paired with a simple salad and a glass of wine. Thanks John for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are great - well worth the special trip to our local Italian market for authentic meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth2464

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Have not gotten around to making the sub so this rating is for the sauce only. LOVE it, even using dried parsley, always have it on hand in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States