Italian Style Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Added petite diced tomatoes to this for some color and it was delicious! Very savory, creamy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So when I made this recipe, I looked at the comments first and made some changes: I added less garlic (2 cloves) and instead of decreasing the amount of rice, I added more chicken stock (10 cups) to add liquid. I also used fresh chopped oregano, basil, and parsley instead of dried herbs. And finally, I didnt add the heavy cream. I made it in 2 big spaghetti pots, and saved one pot for the freezer and shared the rest with friends. It's really delicious even with the tweaks to the recipe and its exactly what I wanted (an herb/sausage/rice/broth soup). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good soup. My husband and 5 kids ranging from 20 mos to 14yrs all said how much they liked it and had seconds or in my teenage sons case fourths! I did, as some others had suggested, and added cooked brown rice at the end so we would still have soup and not end up with a casserole. I also used ground sausage as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used turkey it. sausage. People raved out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Didn't end up as soup, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Super easy to make and very comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
WAY TOO MUCH RICE! I thought this was a soup? It was like a humungous moist "pre-packaged" rice dish. Flavor was tolerable to me. Everyone else hit the brakes after about 3 bites. If you use hot sausage, it does make it quite spicy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I screwed this up at the end, and didn't add the cream, but I think it came out great as a rice dish! Try it, I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Starkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband and I were absolutely amazed when we made this recipe. I had intended to follow it exactly, but we're not big garlic fans, and we love onions, so I made a few small changes. I only put in a clove and a half of garlic, and I upped the onion to about 1 cup (half a medium onion). I didn't quite have 8 cups of chicken stock, but I used what I had (probably about 6 or 6.5 cups). We also like a lot of meat, so I believe we put 6 links of sausage instead of 4. It was more like a stew than a soup, but we liked it that way. I can't wait to make this again, and next time I plan to double it and share with relatives! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is so easy and so good! Just what you need to make the winter months bearable; but it's good all year long too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States