Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The basics of this recipe are excellent. Our garden has a bumper crop of chard so I'm always looking for new ways to use it. I tweeked the recipe by adding fresh mushrooms, which I browned in a pan with 1/4 cup oil packed sundried tomatoes. The juices from the mushrooms,and the oil from the tomatoes,combined well with the garlicky chard mixture to create a fab sauce which I tossed with hot spaghetti. We topped it with grated Mezithra cheese. What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Trust me, this really IS authentic Italian cooking! I am Italian, and this has been a staple in my Italian family since probably forever, and has always been my favorite vegetable. You can skip the red pepper flakes if you don't care for the extra bite. Or you can make this with bacon and garlic rather than the olive oil. Another great use for Swiss Chard (easily grown in your garden) is to add it to soups. SO much milder than other greens. It must be washed well, leaf by leaf, and you must make what you THINK is a ton of it because it cooks down so much. The prep, then, is time consuming, but SO worth it! The red-stalked variety is especially pretty, tho' I grow both red and green stemmed for the blend of colors when I make this. Another great thing about growing your own is that as you cut the leaves off, they keep growing back! Can't wait for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was excellent. My husband loved it and he usually likes his vegetables no muss-and-fuss. I didn't have fresh garlic, so I just sprinkled some garlic powder in the olive oil. The taste was fantastic. I'll do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Yummy is all I have to say! I forgot the water, but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was very good! I just bought Swiss Chard for the first time due to the nutrition in it and this was perfect and wasn't bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori J Nonko

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I have renamed this recipe "Garlick'd Swiss Chard" because it is one of my favorites. It's so flavorful, to the point of actually being yummy. The cooking method gets the flavor into the thick stalky parts (which need to be put in first to cook longer. I left out the salt (as I do in almost all recipes). Also, this recipe freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was delicious! This was the first time I've made Swiss Chard. This was a nice, easy first-timer recipe. My husband hates greens, but the garlicky taste won him over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Had no fresh garlic so used garlic granules. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times and I serve it with pasta and homemade sauce and bread. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States