Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a tasty alternative to just steaming or boiling the chard. It grows very well in my garden so a new way to eat it is welcome! I did not have any red pepper flakes so I just used some frozen diced sweet peppers and was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crevitoon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a very good and simple recipe. Everyone loved it (except one son who said it was spicy...but that's not unusual). If you don't have crushed red pepper, we found that sprinkling a little red pepper powder was fine. I would probably reduce the amount of olive oil next time....and I used two bunches of chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I've never made swiss chard before and because I read that it's now one of the top ten healthiest foods, I decided to give it a try. When you buy a bunch of the chard, it looks like you could feed a small army with it. For those who've never cooked with it before, let me tell you that surprisingly, it cooks down to nothing. One bunch was only enough for two people, so I needed to add some spinach to it. Karen, we all loved this recipe and it went great with the flank steak I made! Hubby and my daughter are crazy about their greens and they asked for a repeat performance. Thanks so much Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was excellent. My husband loved it and he usually likes his vegetables no muss-and-fuss. I didn't have fresh garlic, so I just sprinkled some garlic powder in the olive oil. The taste was fantastic. I'll do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Yummy is all I have to say! I forgot the water, but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Trust me, this really IS authentic Italian cooking! I am Italian, and this has been a staple in my Italian family since probably forever, and has always been my favorite vegetable. You can skip the red pepper flakes if you don't care for the extra bite. Or you can make this with bacon and garlic rather than the olive oil. Another great use for Swiss Chard (easily grown in your garden) is to add it to soups. SO much milder than other greens. It must be washed well, leaf by leaf, and you must make what you THINK is a ton of it because it cooks down so much. The prep, then, is time consuming, but SO worth it! The red-stalked variety is especially pretty, tho' I grow both red and green stemmed for the blend of colors when I make this. Another great thing about growing your own is that as you cut the leaves off, they keep growing back! Can't wait for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I don't know what I could have done wrong, considering this recipe has so many good reviews. This was like eating kelp off of the beach. The salt taste was everywhere, nothing else came through. I might try this again, but not put the salt in with the water when boiling. Maybe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was very good! I just bought Swiss Chard for the first time due to the nutrition in it and this was perfect and wasn't bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I have renamed this recipe "Garlick'd Swiss Chard" because it is one of my favorites. It's so flavorful, to the point of actually being yummy. The cooking method gets the flavor into the thick stalky parts (which need to be put in first to cook longer. I left out the salt (as I do in almost all recipes). Also, this recipe freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States