Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
AWESOME!! love this recipe and make it all the time now; I didn't pre-boil the chard and it still turned out tender without being soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My grandmother made this all of the time. She didn't pre-boil the chard. Used only a bit of water and steamed with the seasoning. At times she would add bits of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Dos Palos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I'm sorry to be critical of someone else's review - and I haven't, yet made this dish but - 'tonimg' - the recipe says, "Salt to taste" so how can you blame the author of the recipe if you chose to add too much salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Pretty tasty. Added extra garlic and made it as in the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potroast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I thought this was pretty appetizing. I served it over pasta with regular marinara sauce--the swiss chard & garlic made a simple pasta dish "fancy", as my boyfriend put it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
this was my first time cooking swiss chard. delish! this recipe and the other reviews are great to build from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I would've given this five stars, but I believe it's written wrong. I am glad I read the reviews first, because 1 Tablespoon would be waaaaay too much salt!!! I used 1/2 tsp in the water and about the same, if not less on the finished product. It turned out great, yum! First time I cooked chard, and I'll definitely make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Just made this tonight. Very easy and very good. I used Raibow chard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
VERY TASTY; TRY THIS: ADD ONE 8OZ CAN OF ITALIAN STYLE TOMATO SAUCE AT THE END. HEAT ON LOW FOR ABOUT 2-3 MINUTES; DELICIOUSLY TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I grew up eating Italian greens all time and this was delicious! One thing I did differently was to increase the blanching water to 3 cups and being aware that a bunch of swiss chard may not be the same everywhere I kept the salt to 11/2 tsp.I also added diced tomatoes and drained and rinsed cannelini beans. I also increased the garlic. It's a terrific side dish or you can make a meal by adding pasta cooked in the water used to blanch the chard. Great flavor and vitamins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States