Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was my first Swiss Chard recipe and it was delicious! I served with fettuccine and a little cheese and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I now have a new favorite green. This is amazing. I messed it up at first - if you use red swiss chard and white swiss isn't in season, it comes out slightly bitter (mine did anyway). I was delighted to see that white Swiss chard was at the grocery store this week. I gave the recipe another go and oh...my...goodness. I could eat a big bowlful of just this. Haha! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle David Lehman
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I was given a huge bunch of red stemmed Swiss Chard and was looking for a heathy recipe to use. I was very happy to find this recipe. I followed it fairly closely except I probably had 2-3 times as much Swiss Chard and I added about a cup of sliced mushrooms and 1/2 cup sliced green onions. I also added about 1/2 cup red wine and let it reduce down. Served with whole wheat pasta and Turkey Sausage (Roasted Pobano Pepper variety). Delicious and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
this was good and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is an excellent dish to accompany any meal! I like that the chard can be blanched ahead of time and then you finish by sauteeing the garlic & pepper flakes with the chard stems & leaves at the last minute. I like to top with some freshly ground Parmesan cheese to finish. This has been a hit with everyone who's tried it - even those who claim to not like greens. Note that the tablespoon of salt goes into the water when you blanch the chard - not into the final dish! After you sautee' the dish, then add only as much salt as you need to suit your taste preferences - we like to also add fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Blagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was awesome. I also did not use as much salt as it calls for. I also added Bok Choy! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Really good! I did cut the salt in half at the suggestion of other reviews and it came out perfect. Next time I will double this recipe because I wish there were leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I followed the directions, but this wasn't very good. I am always open to trying new things, but maybe I just don't have a taste for swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I never had Swiss Chard before. This was pretty good. The Chard is a little out of season, so I am eager to try this in the summer. I did not boil it beforehand, I think that would have made it way too mushy. I might cut back a bit on the garlic next time too, but this was simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. Even my husband, who won't go near a vegetable, liked it! I must agree with tonigm's post. Mine came out a bit too salty for my taste as well. I used 3/4 Tb of salt in the boiling water and added no additional salt to taste. I did add a small sprinkling of parmesan cheese at the end of cooking, which may well have been the culprit. It was a nice addition though and I would not omit the cheese next time. I also added some portabello mushrooms. I put these in the skillet with olive oil a couple of minutes before the garlic. Thanks for a great recipe. This was my first, and certainly not last, experience with chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States