Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I actually had to make more because my boyfriend liked it so much he wouldn't give it back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brionne_27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I'm Italian and this is exactly how my mother made Swiss chard! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good. I made exactly as written except I added some cannelini beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fantastic! I was looking for something to make with swiss chard because my husband had picked some for me. I sauteed onions and garlic first and added mushrooms. Then added the steamed swiss chard. Then then juice of a fresh lemon and salt and pepper. I was planning to add tomato and serve over pasta but tried it first. It was out of this world. No tomatoes necessary. Served over pasta with fresh grated parmesan cheese. Definitely will make this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I thought this was really good. For 4 adults in our family, I would need a double batch next time, though, as the Chard really cooks down. 2 issues/changes: First, I wasn't paying attention when I started, and kicked into my 'melted butter and fresh garlic' mode. Then I realized there is no butter in this recipe. Whoops. But, if it affected the recipe in any way, it was positive. I still used the olive oil. The other issue was mine was terribly salty. But, I blame that on myself, as the recipe states "salt to taste". I don't know that the salt is really necessary...if so, VERY little. Overall, a very nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJuju

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I steamed my swiss chard because it retains nutrients this way more so than boiling. I then added it to the skillet with garlic (I used 6 cloves because we're garlic crazy), some red pepper flakes and some sun dried tomatoes (suggestion from another user.) We loved it. We had it with some roast beef and a small portion of rice pasta. Everything was sprinkled with fresh parsley and parmesan. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was WAAAAAYYYYY too salty!!!!!! It was barely palatable. The only reason we could choke it down was because we had roasted turnips & beets that we ate along with each bite of chard. Next time I would cut the salt in half (at least) and it may work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Thank you for this. So simple and so delicious. I harvested my garden swiss chard for the recipe and served it on rice (maybe not the authentic Italian way but great). I ended up eating it all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was probably the saltiest thing I've ever tasted. That said, it would be great with less salt. I think we'll make it again and severely reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is such a great alternative to traditional pasta sauce. Very, very good. I added finely chopped and sauted onion, red pepper and mushrooms. Wish the Swiss Chard, this meal offers a good source of several veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States