Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
OhMGoodness this was wonderful! My mother only used chard in an ethnic soup when I was a child, but when I saw rainbow chard in the vegetable section of the garden plants this spring, I wanted to try growing and using it. I knew it would be good FOR me, but I didn't know that it would be GOOD! To be fair, I used leftover bacon grease to cook it (what's not to love about that?), so it did put some additional flavor into the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
The idea was good but it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It was okay, but not what I expected. My BF's mom grows Swiss Chard in the backyard so we have it quite frequently when we go over for dinner. I love the way she cooks it, but this recipe came out to oily for my test. I'll try the recipe again, but I'll use even less olive oil. Also, I don't think she boils hers first, but I will give this recipe another try as is (with the mod of less oil.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Thank you for this recipe. Swiss chard is my new love. I dramatically decrease the salt when boiling. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The only salt I used was in the boiling water and we found it too salty. Next time I will cut the salt in half for the boiling part and maybe rinse it while draining. I think I would have liked it but I couldn't get past the salt taste. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is very tasty. Next time I will use a tsp. of salt in the water instead of a tablespoon. It was a little too salty but still deserves the high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was delicious, but man, does it reduce down! A whole bunch amounted to about a cup's worth wilted, at most, but it was very tasty, and I'll be sure to use more chard next time. I discarded the stems out of personal preference and drastically reduced the salt in the water. I found it was still salty, so I will reduce more next time. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I used 1/8 tsp of ground cayenne pepper. that mixed with the garlic gave it a great kick of flavor. I served it with New Year Black Eyed Peas & Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread (both also found on allrecipes). I stirred the chard into my bowl o' beans when getting ready to serve it, and it was a perfect complement, both texturally and flavor-wise to that dish. So delicious! Thank you for sharing such a simple and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
It was good but not outstanding. First time I have cooked chard. I think I like escarole better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. Sadly, the one user who rated it as too salty and only gave two starts, likely added the 1 tbsp of salt meant for the boiling water, into the recipe itself, where it calls for "salt to taste." I aslo added some bacon and tomatoes, and served it over whole wheat pasta for a delicous and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was great. I took the advice of someone else and increased the garlic, added a small onion, cannellini beans & a can of diced tomatoes. This was FANTASTIC..the flavors were great and was so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States