Italian-Style Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
a bit too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner and was it ever good! The only thing I changed was to lessen the salt in the cooking water and also to add more water as I had so much chard. The flavor was amazing. I've never had chard before and now I know what I've been missing. It's delicious and I would recommend this recipe to anyone and everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was delicious! I've never prepared Swiss Chard this way (we usually bread and fry the stalks) I highly recommend this-be sure to use a lot of garlic-you can never have too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I liked the basic idea of the recipe and its simplicity, but I'm giving it three stars because if I hadn't adjusted it, the result would have been way too salty. I did a double take and re-checked the recipe when I saw that it calls for a full tablespoon of salt added to the water for boiling. I only added about half a tablespoon. Even after adjusting the amount down, the cooked chard definitely didn't need more salt added for taste. When I make this again, I will do the same thing and also use more water to boil; one cup was barely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker_caroline
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is so good and easy. I've made it several times and it always turns out perfect. Thank you for posting such a great way to cook the whole chard- including the beautiful rainbow stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Simple recipe, very tasty. I have made this twice now and my wife and I love it. It has a very savory flavor. Chard really cooks down much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
A little too much oil and a little on the mushy side for me but it was OK. If you really like greens, then you will probably love it. I will probably make it again with less oil, add a little chopped onion, and try not pre-boiling the chard. My husband, who loves greens, said it was OK and he would like to have it again, but he always says something nice no matter how bad it is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Taste is really good but I do agree with someone else's review about the salt. I will try this again and lightly salt the boiling water and then season to taste. But all in all very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Thank you! Yes, this is how my Italian family makes greens, especiallly bitter greens, whether escarole, spinach, dandelion, chard etc. I do variation, adding onion, mushrooms or garbonzo beans or even romano. Today I used most of the above and added lean ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
As a garlic and swiss chard lover, I loved this. Brought back good memories of being at my Sicilian grandmas house in the summer. I used more water, less salt and topped with some Parmesan cheese. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States