Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Excellent! Used Jimmy Dean Regular Sausage. Now I can duplicate my favorite pizza place, which is now 400 miles away. Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a very tasty sausage. I don't care for anise and substituted fennel seed. Since we had butchered a whole hog, I had the butcher prepare the fresh ground pork, and I made 10 lbs. of this recipe and froze it. Thanks, Lee, for this recipe and the one for breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was really great, the flavors were perfect. No more store bought Italian Sausage for this family! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
The best. I triple this recipe and freeze a in portions. I then mix with ziti or manicotti when I make it. I highly recommend this sausage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
we used turkey instead of pork. this tastes just like store bought! thak you so much. i have been looking for a Italian sausage recipe to make since i can't have all the bad stuff they put in packaged sausages. it is a keeper. 1st recipe in my box. thank you Lee. kris :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I also used ground turkey breast. I also used fennel instead of anise- it's what I had & I do like it! Threw some in some spaghetti sauce. I'll bet it will be great on pizza. I'd like to try it with the pork- maybe. I dunno. Pork is kinda nasty- except for bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. I used my own ground pork shoulder because it has an excellent fat to meat ratio that keeps the sausage moist without coming out greasy. Mix it up and put in the fridge overnight before either freezing or cooking so the flavors can mingle. I no longer buy store made sausage as I think this tastes much more superior than what is in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
The spices in this receipe are fabulous. Simply the best ever italian sausage I have ever tasted. Very flavorful but not overpowering. The aroma of this sausage is tantilizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Great. I could not find the plain ground pork so I used the Jimmy Dean sausage. I added the spices as specified. It was very good. I froz the leftovers for another pie. Next time I will not cook the sausage mixture until quite done. It got a little black in the oven. But tasted great. I made, also from this site, Jays Signature pizza crust and the easy pizza sauce. I am from NJ the home of great Pizza Pie and this was mixture was just as good as we have here. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is a very good start to any recipe asking for italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States