Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was great! I did not have any anise, so I substituted fennel seed- and left it whole. Very tasty! A bit too salty for our taste, next time I'll just reduce the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. I used my own ground pork shoulder because it has an excellent fat to meat ratio that keeps the sausage moist without coming out greasy. Mix it up and put in the fridge overnight before either freezing or cooking so the flavors can mingle. I no longer buy store made sausage as I think this tastes much more superior than what is in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a very tasty sausage. I don't care for anise and substituted fennel seed. Since we had butchered a whole hog, I had the butcher prepare the fresh ground pork, and I made 10 lbs. of this recipe and froze it. Thanks, Lee, for this recipe and the one for breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
To make this a little lighter (and maybe a little more cost effective, depending on how great your shopping skills are), you can substitute ground chicken or turkey for the ground pork and still have it come out tasting like italian sausage. This is one of my favorite go-to recipes for when I'm making breakfast sausage. Even my ground turkey/chicken hating husband loves this recipe. For a sweeter sausage flavor, I like to add either a tablespoon or so of brown sugar or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Oh please people. splurge now and then, use the pork, you know, the other white meat? forget the turkey. this is sausage, to be savoured and tasted and enjoyed. use turkey for your burgers, but not for sausage for pizzas and meatballs. Have we forgotten that lean pork is as healthy as turkey? Loved this recipe, and I make a lot of sausage and smoke it too. Good job. Makes a great Sausage and Eggs breakfast to. I can really appreciate the after much experimentation. been there, done that. but that is what we good cooks do. lol. try and try til we get it right, and someone will change it, but that is ok, we are happy with what we got. Keep submitting Lee. Good recipe. I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This turned out very well. I used 3 lbs. of lean ground turkey and doubled the spices except for the anise seed, since I didn't have any. I can't wait to use it in all my favorite sausage recipes. I've been looking for a good recipe to make turkey sausage with and this fit the bill. Next time I may add more spice.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This sausage is EXCELLENT and SO much healthier than commercial brands. I used 1-1/2 lbs. of regular ground turkey, and all the spices required for the 2 lbs. of pork, except that I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. and subbed 1/4 tsp. anise extract for the seeds. It made enough sausage topping for 2 large pizzas. VERY, VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Very good but would add fennel seed next time and bit of oil to moisten. I froze patties and cooked when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I used fennel and added about 50% more of all the spices. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
we used turkey instead of pork. this tastes just like store bought! thak you so much. i have been looking for a Italian sausage recipe to make since i can't have all the bad stuff they put in packaged sausages. it is a keeper. 1st recipe in my box. thank you Lee. kris :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States