Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Delish. I used ground chicken and added some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I used ground turkey and the flavor is perfect, just the right amount of all the spices! I did use fennel seed instead of anise (because we just like it). Ground turkey tends to get dry when it is cooking so we added olive oil. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious! I have been using ground beef instead of pork and it taste very much like italian sausage. It's not a staple in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I love this. I love the idea of making our own sausage. I get organic grass-fed ground pork from my farmer. I do add fennel seeds and omit the garlic powder (I just use fresh garlic, crushed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very good sausage! Where we live (Mexico) Italian sausage is not readily available but some comfort foods from home (like meatloaf) really need it. Never would I have considered actually making my own! Very easy recipe. I go a little heavy on the spices and use fresh garlic & onion. A word of warning, I am accustomed to sausage with a longer shelf life because all of the preservatives. Just takes a little adjusting to remember to freeze what you aren't going to use right away, besides, it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly, using lean ground pork. I made the mixture into patties and grilled them on the BBQ. Excellent! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used this recipe with ground lean turkey to put on pizza with sauteed mushrooms and skim mozzarella cheese (trying to be more healthy). I don't like sausage typically (something about the flavor/texture), but it did taste like sausage, and I did eat some of it. And my fiance seemed to like it, even though he usually hates all forms of turkey. Not a bad recipe, and it's probably a lot better with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORSFRIEND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Like other reviewers, I was in search of a recipe to make Italian sausage since I cannot have many of the additives (mostly MSG) in commercially-prepared sausage. We moved and I could no longer find sausage without additives. Even if you *can* eat commercial sausage, DON'T - make this and you'll never make anything else!!! I used 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 fresh ground turkey (better texture than frozen). This cuts the fat content, and it's still so great! I did add whole fennel seeds like other reviewers. I used this in pasta sauce the first time and can't wait to try it on pizza! If you haven't tried Lee Fogle's Breakfast Sausage recipe - YOU MUST! It's also fantastic! THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very good! Tastes just like we expected. I much prefer making my own foods and now I have 1 more item I don't have to buy. I used this for a sausage and mushroom pizza for my DH, and he liked it. This is a great base recipe and fantastic as is. Thanks Lee for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
LOVE this recipe! I use it on pizza and in lasagna and spaghetti... very versatile. The spices and seasonings are terrific. I increase all seasonings by 1/2 their amount, but I keep the salt the same. I have done this with ground turkey, and it works really well. I like to mix up the meat and then let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours to "marinate" first - flavors really mesh together well then. Also, to save time, I scale the recipe to 60 or more servings and then mix up all the seasoning ingredients in a jar for future use. I have also mixed up the meat & frozen it for future use - both cooked and uncooked freeze equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States