Italian Style Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My girlfriend and I LOVED THEM! Minor mods: had no anise so used fennel. Used a bit of hot sauce as I don't like 'spicy'. No minced onion so I used minced garlic. Rolled them into sausage shapes - served up with spagetti & sauce. Light years better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is a humdinger of a good recipe, I didn't have the Anise seeds but saw that other people also made it without and I didn't add the salt, but then I cook without salt anyway. We used it in the 'Sausage Pasta' recipe also from this site. If I could give more stars then I would. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was just ok. I didn't hate it, but I won't be using it again. There's a few, much better Italian sausage recipes out there. Maybe I just like it spicier than most, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Oh please people. splurge now and then, use the pork, you know, the other white meat? forget the turkey. this is sausage, to be savoured and tasted and enjoyed. use turkey for your burgers, but not for sausage for pizzas and meatballs. Have we forgotten that lean pork is as healthy as turkey? Loved this recipe, and I make a lot of sausage and smoke it too. Good job. Makes a great Sausage and Eggs breakfast to. I can really appreciate the after much experimentation. been there, done that. but that is what we good cooks do. lol. try and try til we get it right, and someone will change it, but that is ok, we are happy with what we got. Keep submitting Lee. Good recipe. I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is the best italian sausage I have ever had...better than store bought. I have also used a combination of medium ground beef and pork, medium ground beef and venison...the results were great although I do perfer the pork and beef mixture as well as the all pork. I usually cook the meat mixture into very small balls and then freeze them in freezer bags for those times I want to add to soups or sauces. These are great in Italian Wedding soup. I have also made the meat mixture into little patties and frozen to use latter for breakfast. Thank you soooo much for such a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I halved the recipe and wish I hadn't--I didn't taste as much of the sausage flavor as I would've liked. I'm a bit of a spice fiend, though, so I don't think that is a reflection on the recipe. For me, I'd have preferred it being doubled. Bf didn't notice a thing, though, so it must be me. I added in fennel seeds along with the anise since I love fennel flavor. I'll definitely come back to this and flavor with more anise and fennel next time. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thanks for this! I accidentally bought a HUGE amount of ground pork instead of beef so I wanted a good recipe to use with it. This was great! I liked the anise...gave a totally different flavor. I thought I didn't have garlic powder, so I substituted 1 tsp. garlic salt and reduced the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. Worked out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This sausage is awesome! I used it in Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce from allrecipes...I made the sausage a couple days prior to using it in this dish...Our friends say it's the best they have ever eaten!...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was fantastic!! I used fennel seeds instead of anise and doubled all the ingredients except salt per other reveiwers. I also used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Taste better than store bought. Made it tonight to use in a soup recipe from here, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States