Italian-Style Quinoa-Stuffed Sole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I made this with modifications (of course, I cant help myself!) I jazzed up the quinoa by cooking in vegetable broth and adding some italian seasoning, mushrooms and asparagus because I had them and needed to use them up. Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine. Didnt have fresh lemon to put on top and think it would have made it even better. My husband (who I don't think was expecting much, by the way!) said it was really good and maybe we should add some lemon pepper to the top before baking and I will try that next time. This is probably a 3 star before modifications, and a 5 after, so am rating a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This dish was a nice combination of flavors. My husband said "wouldn't have expected quinoa in an Italian dish, but it went very well together." I did substitute Pangasius instead of Sole, which is a good alternative, I read on a site. The quinoa I cooked less time than was given - medium low, otherwise it would have scorched. My herbs were dry rather than fresh, but that was not a problem. I just did the dry to fresh reduction. Also my vinegar was apple cider - didn't have red wine. Due to the thickness of the fish and quinoa I did have to take it out of the oven after the 4 minutes and carefully flip it so the other side would cook in the broiler. All in all a good healthy meal! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. My only difficulty was that it was a little bland. I'm on a lot of food restrictions, though, so I wanted to make this recipe work! Solution: GARLIC! I added 2 cloves of garlic to the quinoa as it cooked, and then sliced a 3rd clove and laid that over the sole before popping it in the oven. I also sprinkled a little sesame oil over all before tossing it in. I can't have spicy food right now... but should my stomach again be able to handle it, I would love to try this recipe with a little hot red pepper chopped fine and added into the mix. Someone try it and let me know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
As a few others said - the underside of the fish did not cook properly. I really liked the idea of this because I love quinoa - but the final product was only OK. It just wasn't that great of a taste - not bad per say, but nothing I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Photo by jvfalcon
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very bland. It didn't taste bad so that's the reasoning for 2 stars. The only difference we made was to substitute tilapia for the sole because the store didn't have any fresh sole that day. I can see the potential with the quinoa and fish, but I just don't know what I would add to give it flavor. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
We felt that this needed some more flavor--perhaps some onion or onion powder in the filling, and more Parmesan. Nevertheless, it was a decent fish dish, and certainly healthy. I was unable to get sole and used cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellant - however, I combined the quinoa with the toasted almonds from the almond sole fillets. And stuffed the fillets. Worked out great! Will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a really fast and easy dish, I couldn't believe how quick it was! The sole we had was a little too fishy (not an issue with the recipe of course), otherwise all of the flavors were great with it and helped tone down the fishy-ness. I love vinegar, so I'll add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Prepared as described and had a few issues. First, had to change oven to bake to generate heat from underneath to get fish cooked thoroughly. Second, it was a bit bland. If I make this again I will add fresh oregeno and lemon juice to the stuffing. I do appreciate how healthy this recipe is and think it is worth experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I was worried this would be a little bland do to the low fat content, but it was surprisingly tasty. It was really quick and easy, too! I liked how versatile it is as well, you could toss anything you like into the quinoa stuffing. I will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States