Italian Style Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I only had a few items in my pantry and went in search of something I could make with crushed tomatoes and a pot roast... well this recipe made it to the top of the list because it sounded so darned good. Well, not only did it satisfy the ingredient search, but the tummies of me, my fiance and his hard-to-please-teenager son. If a 15-year-old asks for you to make it again, you know it was a hit! So, thanks for this recipe. I altered this to a crock-pot version, and skipped the corn starch phase. By making it in the crock pot, it's now a quick and easy meal and it's ready when everyone is back from work. I also served it more like a pot roast and served it with a side dish of elbow macaroni and used the sauce from the crock pot as it's gravy and then had some hard italian bread and it was totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Definitely a make-again. Slicing up the cooked meat and returning it to the pot is key. I served it with mashed potatoes and veggies instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
My husband loved this! It had a great taste. I skipped the cornstarch phase and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I put a 3.75 pound chuck roast in a slow cooker and cooked it for 2 1/2 hours on high and 2 hours on low. It was very tender and soooo delicious! I also made spaghetti with the left overs and it was great. I also took slices of the roast, put them on kaiser rolls, and melted slices of mozzarella in the oven. Awesome leftovers! Will be making this again when I have a busy day and will probably cook it for 8 hours on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very good. My 3 year old loved it and he is a very picky eater. Meat was nice and tender as well. Next time I will use a crock pot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Quite tasty. Served it over egg noodles but felt like it blanded it out too much, might serve it over parmesan polenta next time. The meat was delightfully tender and the meal was quite acidic (hello heartburn), but the flavor was right there. Threw in extra mushrooms and sliced onion because we like it. Super filling and makes a bunch! Made 4.45 pounds since that's what Costco had. The meat was tough until about the last 1/2 hour, then it really got nice and soft. Phew! I was worried for a sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
HOLY CANNOLI, this is some great stuff, didn't change a thing, reminded me of my mom's, NO LEFTOVERS...DRAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent just as written. Next time I may add some diced carrot with the mushrooms. Whole family enjoyed it, and it's a good choice for cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
loved it! I added a litte red wine to mine. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This turned out better than I expected!!! I cooked it in the oven at 375 for an hour and a half. I then took it out sliced it added the mushrooms and put it in for another 30 minutes. I followed all other ingredients/directions exactly except for the cooking. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States