Italian Style Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I only had a few items in my pantry and went in search of something I could make with crushed tomatoes and a pot roast... well this recipe made it to the top of the list because it sounded so darned good. Well, not only did it satisfy the ingredient search, but the tummies of me, my fiance and his hard-to-please-teenager son. If a 15-year-old asks for you to make it again, you know it was a hit! So, thanks for this recipe. I altered this to a crock-pot version, and skipped the corn starch phase. By making it in the crock pot, it's now a quick and easy meal and it's ready when everyone is back from work. I also served it more like a pot roast and served it with a side dish of elbow macaroni and used the sauce from the crock pot as it's gravy and then had some hard italian bread and it was totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I put a 3.75 pound chuck roast in a slow cooker and cooked it for 2 1/2 hours on high and 2 hours on low. It was very tender and soooo delicious! I also made spaghetti with the left overs and it was great. I also took slices of the roast, put them on kaiser rolls, and melted slices of mozzarella in the oven. Awesome leftovers! Will be making this again when I have a busy day and will probably cook it for 8 hours on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Definitely a make-again. Slicing up the cooked meat and returning it to the pot is key. I served it with mashed potatoes and veggies instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
My husband loved this! It had a great taste. I skipped the cornstarch phase and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Made in in my crock pot. Came out a little more liquidy than I would like. Next time I'll be more diligent about the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This took way too much time for the outcome. I didn't like it at all and neither did my husband. Wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a large can of tomatoes and I cooked it in the crock pot. The flavor was really good. I think the Worcestershire sauce makes it. I saved the extra sauce to use for spaghetti, and I can't wait to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was good, just not great. I added a can of beef broth for more liquid and some red wine vinegar. We cooked it in the crock pot for about 8 hours- flipping it about once an hour. It was falling apart tender, just not a lot of flavor in the meat itself. I did thicken the juices for a gravy and really had to spice it up with garlic and onion powder, Italian seasoning and cajun seasoning. we enjoyed it more a few days later with some potatoes simmered with the leftovers and made beefy burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent just as written. Next time I may add some diced carrot with the mushrooms. Whole family enjoyed it, and it's a good choice for cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
HOLY CANNOLI, this is some great stuff, didn't change a thing, reminded me of my mom's, NO LEFTOVERS...DRAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States