Italian Style Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
My husband loved this! It had a great taste. I skipped the cornstarch phase and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This took way too much time for the outcome. I didn't like it at all and neither did my husband. Wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Definitely a make-again. Slicing up the cooked meat and returning it to the pot is key. I served it with mashed potatoes and veggies instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I only had a few items in my pantry and went in search of something I could make with crushed tomatoes and a pot roast... well this recipe made it to the top of the list because it sounded so darned good. Well, not only did it satisfy the ingredient search, but the tummies of me, my fiance and his hard-to-please-teenager son. If a 15-year-old asks for you to make it again, you know it was a hit! So, thanks for this recipe. I altered this to a crock-pot version, and skipped the corn starch phase. By making it in the crock pot, it's now a quick and easy meal and it's ready when everyone is back from work. I also served it more like a pot roast and served it with a side dish of elbow macaroni and used the sauce from the crock pot as it's gravy and then had some hard italian bread and it was totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
HOLY CANNOLI, this is some great stuff, didn't change a thing, reminded me of my mom's, NO LEFTOVERS...DRAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Deish!!! Followed the recipie o a T except I infused the meat with garlic befoe I pan seared it and I used a crock pot. Meat turned out dry...I cooked it on High in the crock pot for 4 hours and then on low until we ate at 5:00pm. Would love to know the correct amount of time for the crock pot and try again. I never thought a roast in the crockpot could turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent just as written. Next time I may add some diced carrot with the mushrooms. Whole family enjoyed it, and it's a good choice for cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was good, just not great. I added a can of beef broth for more liquid and some red wine vinegar. We cooked it in the crock pot for about 8 hours- flipping it about once an hour. It was falling apart tender, just not a lot of flavor in the meat itself. I did thicken the juices for a gravy and really had to spice it up with garlic and onion powder, Italian seasoning and cajun seasoning. we enjoyed it more a few days later with some potatoes simmered with the leftovers and made beefy burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a large can of tomatoes and I cooked it in the crock pot. The flavor was really good. I think the Worcestershire sauce makes it. I saved the extra sauce to use for spaghetti, and I can't wait to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Made in in my crock pot. Came out a little more liquidy than I would like. Next time I'll be more diligent about the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States