Italian Style Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Quite tasty. Served it over egg noodles but felt like it blanded it out too much, might serve it over parmesan polenta next time. The meat was delightfully tender and the meal was quite acidic (hello heartburn), but the flavor was right there. Threw in extra mushrooms and sliced onion because we like it. Super filling and makes a bunch! Made 4.45 pounds since that's what Costco had. The meat was tough until about the last 1/2 hour, then it really got nice and soft. Phew! I was worried for a sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very good. My 3 year old loved it and he is a very picky eater. Meat was nice and tender as well. Next time I will use a crock pot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I put a 3.75 pound chuck roast in a slow cooker and cooked it for 2 1/2 hours on high and 2 hours on low. It was very tender and soooo delicious! I also made spaghetti with the left overs and it was great. I also took slices of the roast, put them on kaiser rolls, and melted slices of mozzarella in the oven. Awesome leftovers! Will be making this again when I have a busy day and will probably cook it for 8 hours on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Made in in my crock pot. Came out a little more liquidy than I would like. Next time I'll be more diligent about the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a large can of tomatoes and I cooked it in the crock pot. The flavor was really good. I think the Worcestershire sauce makes it. I saved the extra sauce to use for spaghetti, and I can't wait to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was good, just not great. I added a can of beef broth for more liquid and some red wine vinegar. We cooked it in the crock pot for about 8 hours- flipping it about once an hour. It was falling apart tender, just not a lot of flavor in the meat itself. I did thicken the juices for a gravy and really had to spice it up with garlic and onion powder, Italian seasoning and cajun seasoning. we enjoyed it more a few days later with some potatoes simmered with the leftovers and made beefy burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent just as written. Next time I may add some diced carrot with the mushrooms. Whole family enjoyed it, and it's a good choice for cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Deish!!! Followed the recipie o a T except I infused the meat with garlic befoe I pan seared it and I used a crock pot. Meat turned out dry...I cooked it on High in the crock pot for 4 hours and then on low until we ate at 5:00pm. Would love to know the correct amount of time for the crock pot and try again. I never thought a roast in the crockpot could turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
HOLY CANNOLI, this is some great stuff, didn't change a thing, reminded me of my mom's, NO LEFTOVERS...DRAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I only had a few items in my pantry and went in search of something I could make with crushed tomatoes and a pot roast... well this recipe made it to the top of the list because it sounded so darned good. Well, not only did it satisfy the ingredient search, but the tummies of me, my fiance and his hard-to-please-teenager son. If a 15-year-old asks for you to make it again, you know it was a hit! So, thanks for this recipe. I altered this to a crock-pot version, and skipped the corn starch phase. By making it in the crock pot, it's now a quick and easy meal and it's ready when everyone is back from work. I also served it more like a pot roast and served it with a side dish of elbow macaroni and used the sauce from the crock pot as it's gravy and then had some hard italian bread and it was totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States