Italian Style Meatloaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I used hamburger/veal/pork mixture and half parsley/half cilantro....this meatloaf not only holds up well, it is so flavorful! As there are only two of us, I made two smalls one - and will freeze one for another day. Thanks for a nice, simple meatloaf recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
While I appreciate a new recipe to try, this meatloaf had an overly soft texture my family didn't particularly care for; I even tried baking for a longer period of time. And, even though I used italian seasoned bread crumbs, we found the dish on the bland side. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I make this all the time! Ground turkey is great to sub for beef in this recipe. I've never used the tomato sauce/sugar mix at the end, just served with ketchup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I tried it once before and it didn't come out very well, but I saved it to try again. The second time I made it, it came out great. It was so great I wanted to have it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TStripes360

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I used this recipe as a starting point for my meatloaf. I love the meatloaf they serve at BJ's Brewery so I altered this to resemble it. I use half angus hamburger meat, and half plain ground pork. I saute the onion and garlic, but add finely chopped red and green bell pepper, celery and carrot to it as well. I also substitute the breadcrumbs with panko breading (italian seasoned if you can find it). I also throw in a heaping handful of finely grated parmesian cheese to the mix. I add a little garlic powder, salt, pepper, and oregeno to the mix too. All of these make an amazing flavored meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was a great recipe. It was very moist. I did not fix the tomatoe with sugar sauce. Instead, I added some tomatillo sauce, and it was absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
-minus the sauce on top my non-eating meatloaf daughter had 2 helpings and said it was delicious *I will definitely be making this again*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was the best meatloaf I've ever had!! My whole family devoured it, including the kids (and my kids are the super picky kind) !!! My alterations: I added one grated zuccini; and I shredded my carrot & zuccini VERY finely (so the kids wouldn't notice). You never knew they were in there! Also, I omited the parsley, added S&P, added onion powder, and added an extra 1/2 cup tomato sauce (1 cup total) to the loaf. That was an "oops", but it all came out so good I wouldn't change a thing. It took 45 minutes exactly to cook. Sauce: I added onion powder & S&P. My husband and I had seconds, and we RARELY do that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I tried cutting the recipe in half, since there are just 2 of us, and, as a result, it ended up being way too soggy. (I think I needed more bread crumbs.) Also, it took much longer to bake. I wasn't crazy about the flavor - I think it needs more garlic, or maybe some Italian seasoning. My husband, who's not crazy about spices, liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The meatloaf is so juicy and garlicy! I think next time I'll put brown sugar instead of granulated in the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States